Can Florida Toll Violations Lead To a Suspended License?

Can Florida Toll Violations Lead To a Suspended License?The state of Florida is home to many toll roads. Most people probably can remember the days of pulling up to the toll booth and counting their bills and coins to pay the toll. Today, technology makes the process of paying a toll much simpler. SunPass is a device that you can purchase and attach to your car. The device is connected to a prepaid account. When you go through a toll, the fee is deducted from your account. SunPass makes the process of entering toll roads much faster than it used to be.

SunPass is a beautiful device, and it makes passing through tolls easy and painless. Still, some complications can arise. What happens if your SunPass is not paid, or you get a new card and forget to update your account? What if you simply forgot to pay your bill? Can your license be suspended?

Toll Violations Can Lead To a Suspended License

You can accumulate numerous toll violations incredibly quickly. If you mistakenly think that your SunPass account is paid, you will inevitably keep driving on toll roads. This can cause you to end up with more and more tickets, and you could have your license suspended.

Unless you are pulled over and informed about your account, or you suddenly remember to check your account, it is quite possible that you will not find out until it is too late. SunPass is supposed to notify you of issues via mail and email, but there is no way of knowing if either of those methods is up to date. You should make sure your SunPass account is up to date and paid for. You do not want to have your license suspended due to toll violations. 

What Happens If You Drive On A Suspended License

You should never drive on a suspended license, but there is a chance you might not be aware that your license is suspended. Should you be stopped while driving with a suspended license, you will face serious consequences. You are committing a second-degree misdemeanor that comes with, at most, a 60-day jail sentence and a $500 fine.

The consequences are even more severe if you are caught driving on a suspended license for a second time.

Other Reasons for a Suspended License

Besides the failure to pay your SunPass bill or traffic ticket, there are several other reasons why you could have your license suspended.

Too Many Points on Your Driver’s License

Florida counts the number of moving traffic violations you commit in a year, and the state has implemented a corresponding point system. If the number of points reaches or exceeds twelve in a given year, your license will be suspended. The length of the license suspension depends on the number of points and the time frame in which they accrue.

Guilty of a DUI

If you are found guilty of a DUI, your license will be suspended. The length of the suspension will vary based on the severity of your offense.

Refusing a Breath Test and Breathing over the Legal Limit

Your license will be suspended for both refusing to take a breathalyzer test and for taking a test that shows you are over the legal limit.

Not Having Insurance

Having car insurance is a legal requirement in the state of Florida. If you are caught driving without insurance, your license will be suspended.

Not Appearing for Your Court Date.

If you have a court date and do not show up, your license can be suspended.

Contact an Attorney at the Umansky Law Firm if Your License was Suspended Due to a Toll Violation

If you have numerous toll violations or traffic tickets, you will most likely have a court date set. It does not matter if the original charge is a simple traffic citation. You must appear in court for any charge that summons you, or your license could be suspended if you do not appear. If you have a court date set, an attorney will be able to help you along the way. The talented team of attorneys at the Umansky Law Firm is prepared to help you. Contact the Umansky Law Firm today by calling (407) 228-3838 or visiting us online.