The Umansky Law Firm
Free Case Review Free Case Review 407.228.3838
Call 407.228.3838
Free Case Review
orlando criminal defense firm
  • email button
  • location button
Main Menu

DUI Archives

4 Things To Do Immediately After You Get a DUI

Countdown.png1. You Only Have 10 Days to Keep Your License

After a DUI arrest, your DUI citation serves as a temporary license that allows you to drive for 10 days. Once the 10 days is up, YOUR LICENSE WILL BE SUSPENDED for 6 MONTHS if you had a blood alcohol level higher than .08, or, 1 YEAR if you refused any blood, urine, or breath test. Fortunately, you do have options:

Increased DUI Patrols Expected For Fourth of July Weekend

It's July 4th weekend and law enforcement will be out in full force looking for drivers under the influence. Patrols will be significantly stepped up starting tonight and running through Monday. Multiple agencies throughout Central Florida will be taking part, specifically the Orange County Sherriff's Office and Florida Highway Patrol.

DUI Saturation Patrol Set to Begin Tonight

Multiple Central Florida law enforcement agencies will be taking part in DUI patrols this Memorial Day weekend. The saturation patrols begin tonight at 9 p.m. and will until 4 a.m. 70 police officers just in Orange County will be participating in this attempt to reduce DUI related incidents during the holiday weekend.

AAA study questions validity of marijuana impaired driving laws

Driving While High.jpgAs we've discussed on our blog before, the way in which the individual states treat marijuana has undergone a remarkable transformation over the last decade with the drug now legal for recreational and medicinal purposes -- or both -- in many.

Can I refuse to take a chemical test? - II

Last time, our blog began examining what the law here in Florida has to say concerning those scenarios in which a person has been placed under arrest for suspicion of driving under the influence and the arresting officer indicates that they want to take a chemical test of their breath, urine or blood.

Can I refuse to take a chemical test?

In the unfortunate event you are placed under arrest by a police officer or state trooper who has probable cause to believe that you were driving under the influence of alcohol -- likely gained through a battery of field sobriety tests -- you might imagine that the incident is essentially over and the next stop is jail. Accordingly, you may decide to say or do very little until you've had a chance to speak with an attorney.

Law enforcement will be out in full force over spring break

Over the next few weeks, college students across the nation will be given some much-needed time away from the rigors of their coursework courtesy of the spring break holiday. While many of these young people will head home to spend time with family or opt to relax on campus, still others will be traveling to warmer climes.

As Seen On

  • NBC
  • Fox News Channel
  • ABC
  • USA Today
  • CNN
  • CBS
  • Bravo
  • Newsweek
    The New York Times
The Umansky Law Firm
Back to top