Winter Garden DUI Lawyer

Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol is such a severe offense due to the amount of danger it poses to fellow commuters and pedestrians. When one consumes alcohol, the body changes in numerous ways. The most apparent effects that alcohol has on the body is diminished coordination, balance, and decision-making skills. Those who over consume alcohol also find it difficult to focus and gauge the distance of both stationary and moving objects. Now imagine a drunk individual operating a motor vehicle that weighs a few thousand pounds that can easily exceed 100 mph. The damage that individual can cause is immense, which is why strict penalties are in place for driving under the influence.

When you’re charged with a DUI, it can be tough to see there being a favorable outcome. The arresting officers are not shy to inform you about the amount of evidence they have and that you should just plead guilty to the charges. Rather than give in to their requests, exercise your right to an attorney by securing the services of a Winter Garden DUI lawyer.

What is a DUI in Florida?

Florida may have one of the more strict penalty structures for driving under the influence, but the qualifications for a DUI are the same nationwide. You can face a DUI charge if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level exceeds:

  • 0.08% and you’re 21 years or older
  • 0.04% and you’re 21 years or older and operating a commercial vehicle
  • 0.02% and you’re under 21 years old

Due to the potential danger of driving under the influence, Florida legislatures implemented a Zero Tolerance policy for drivers under the age of 21. The law warrants an automatic suspension of an underage drinker’s driver’s license if their BAC level exceeds 0.02%. The noticeably low legal limit is in place to disallow underage drinkers from even having one drink and driving as they cannot legally drink until the age of 21. Those of the legal age may have a higher BAC limit, but the penalties are just as severe.

What Consequences Do I Face as a First Offender?

Those who have never received a DUI citation are seen as first-time offenders. Their penalties are the lightest of all DUI penalties, but once an individual becomes a repeat offender, they can expect for them to increase drastically. First-time offender DUI penalties are as follows:

Criminal Penalties

  • 10 days of vehicle impoundment (begins after release from incarceration)
  • No more than 1 year of probation
  • Up to 6 months jail time
  • A minimum of 50 community service hours
  • Fines between $500 and $2,000 dependant on blood alcohol level (BAL)

Administrative Penalties

  • Ignition Interlock Device (if granted a restricted license) and $12 fee
  • DUI school (if required) and $15 fee
  • $45 license reinstatement fee for suspension
  • $75 license reinstatement fee for revocation
  • $130 administrative fee
  • Suspension or revocation of license for 180 days to 1 year

The penalties you face as an individual charged with a DUI are pressing, which is why it’s essential that you acquire an attorney who will fight relentlessly on your behalf. The Winter Garden DUI lawyers at The Umansky Law Firm are seasoned attorneys who understand how to construct a strong defense for the accused. They are knowledgeable and passionate lawyers who will expend every resource to the benefit of their client. Don’t hesitate to get the legal representation your case deserves. Contact us today at 407-228-3838 for a free case evaluation.