What to Do if You Hit a Parked Car in Florida

Any driver can find themselves accidentally hitting a parked car. It happens when you get too close to another car, usually while parallel parking in a spot that’s too tight, and bump into another vehicle. It’s important to know what to do next in case you find yourself in this predicament.

When a driver bumps into another car, they need to stop, exit their vehicle, and check the other automobile. If there are no damages, that’s great. But what happens if you see that the bump caused some damage? If you’re driving in Florida, it’s important to know what to do next.

Do You Have to Report Hitting a Parked Car to the Police?

Florida law states that motorists are required to report this type of accident to law enforcement immediately if there is property damage greater than $500.

If you get out of your vehicle to inspect the other car, and there is no immediately visible damage, it can be tempting to leave the scene. But even if there isn’t any visible damage, an accident still occurred, which means there are steps you need to take in the event of possible future legal problems.

hit a parked car note

Legal Responsibilities

If you’ve hit a parked car, you are required to attempt to locate the vehicle’s owner and notify them about what happened. Some people leave a note with contact information, but it’s best to find the individual and talk to them right away. Locating the other party may be difficult, but if you bumped into the car in a business parking lot, you can walk into the building and try to find the individual.

When leaving a note, leave your contact information, your insurance company name, your address, and any other relevant info. If there are witnesses at the scene, make sure to get their information as well.

Penalties for Hit-and-Run With A Parked Car

If you hit a parked car and flee the scene, you can be charged with a hit and run in Florida. There are severe penalties for hit and run, including:

  • Second-degree misdemeanor charges
  • Possible revocation of your driver’s license
  • A $500 fine
  • A maximum of 60 days in jail

If you’re involved in a hit and run accident with a parked car, call a car accident lawyer for guidance on how to proceed. He or she can help defend you against the charges in court and work for a better outcome.

Don’t Risk a Hit-and-Run Charge

You may have done everything right only to find yourself charged with a hit-and-run or the subject of a lawsuit for damages. If so, it’s time to contact a criminal defense and car accident lawyer.

The Umansky Law Firm has been helping people with car accidents as well as charges for over 25 years. Call us at (407) 228-3838 or use our online contact form to schedule your free consultation to discuss your case.