Voyeurism

Voyeurism is the act of viewing or recording an individual for sexual purposes. The individuals who commit this crime are colloquially recognized as “peeping Toms.” Prosecutors often face an uphill battle in getting voyeurism charges to stick when they lack the tangible evidence needed for a conviction. Alleged victims also often mistakenly or falsely accuse others of this crime resulting in a case dismissal.

The Orlando voyeurism lawyers at The Umansky Law Firm can provide stout criminal defense to all presented charges. Our team has over 100 years of combined criminal defense experience and continue to apply our legal knowledge to the benefit of those in the Greater Central Florida area. Discover how we can help lessen charges or even get them dropped altogether.

Understanding All Facets of Voyeurism

One can commit the act of voyeurism in one of two ways: in person and via video. An individual using binoculars to peer in on a neighbor undressing and a motel owner having cameras in the showers are both instances where voyeurism charges may be applied.

The only factors needed for voyeurism to be a relevant charge is for one to have committed the act for sexual gratification or interests.

Video voyeurism has become the more common charge in the digital age with the ever-growing availability of discreet recording devices. The only difference from traditional voyeurism is the presence of an imaging device. In both instances, it is illegal to:

  • Record/look underneath or through an individual’s clothing to view his or her undergarments or body
  • Record/watch a person dress, undress, or expose their body in any way

Anyone who commits voyeurism faces severe criminal penalties.

Florida Penalties for Voyeurism

The penalty structure for video voyeurism in Florida is unlike that of many other states. Depending on your age, criminal history, and the age of the victim, one may face anywhere from 12 months in jail to 15 years in prison.

Video Voyeurism When Under 19

Under Florida Statute 810.145(6)(a), when the person who commits the crime is under 19 years of age, it is a first-degree misdemeanor punishable by:

  • Up to 12 months in jail
  • Up to 12 months on probation
  • Up to $1,000 in fines

Video Voyeurism When Over 19

Under Florida Statute 810.145(6)(b), when the person who commits the crime is over 19 years of age, it is a third-degree felony punishable by:

  • Up to 5 years in prison
  • Up to 5 years on probation
  • Up to $5,000 in fines

Video Voyeurism Against a Child

Under Florida Statute 810.145(8)(a), if the person commits the crime against a child, it is a second-degree felony, and the judge must designate the individual a sex offender. This requires the individual to register as a sex offender with the state. The crime is also punishable by:

  • Up to 15 years in prison
  • Up to 15 years on probation
  • Up to $10,000 in fines

Video Voyeurism with a Prior Conviction

Under Florida Statute 810.145(7), if the person who commits the crime has a prior voyeurism conviction, it is a second-degree felony punishable by:

  • Up to 15 years in prison
  • Up to 15 years on probation
  • Up to $10,000 in fines

Criminal Defense for Voyeurism Charges

All convictions for voyeurism rely on the prosecution’s ability to prove four factors beyond a reasonable doubt:

  • The circumstances and facts of the surveillance
  • The defendant’s knowledge of the commision of the act
  • The alleged victim’s lack of consent or knowledge
  • The sexual intent of the defendant

Failing to prove even one of the aforementioned incriminating factors will result in the inability to apply the voyeurism charge.

The Orlando voyeurism lawyers at The Umansky Law Firm can fight relentlessly against all presented charges. Contact us today at 407-228-3838 for a free case evaluation and to discover your legal options.

Recent Criminal
Case Results

Burglary of Dwelling; Petit Theft

Withhold with 6 months probation and impulse control; adjudication withheld

Grand Theft ($300-$5000)

Nolle Prosequi-Case Dropped

CT-Driving Under the Influence Car (M1)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

CT- Driving under the influence car

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

Grand Theft Third Degree

Adjudicated Guilty; One day jail/one day time serve; Restitution fees; Court Cost

Petit Theft < 300

We negotiated an agreement that entailed the State dropping the charge after our client completed a Pre-Trial Diversion Program. The Charge was dropped via a Nolle Prosequi.

Unlawful Speeding

Withhold of Adjudication; No points on license; Paid fine and clerk cost; 8 hour aggressive driver class; 90 days to satisfy fine and class

Shoot/Throw Missile Into Dwell/Struct/Veh; Child Abuse; Criminal Mischief; Battery (Domestic Violence)

No Information Notice - Charges Dropped

Attach Tag/Lic Plate To Unassigned Vehicle (M2)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

DUI with Minor In Car or BAL of .20 or Higher

Pled No Contest, 1 Year Probation, 10 day Car Impound, Community Service

Motion to Modify Probation

Motion Granted in 48 hours

Petit Theft

Adjudication Withheld, 4 Months probation, Costs/Fines, Impulse Control Class

Petit Theft of $100 or MORE (M1)

Nolle Prosequi

Refuse To Submit To DUI Test (M1)

Case Dropped

Battery on Law Enforcement Officer (F3); Disorderly Conduct (M2)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

Battery

Charges Dropped

Scheme to Defraud(F3); Grand Theft(F3)

Motion to Terminate Probation Granted

Unlawful Speed

Dismissed

Failed to Yield at Intersection

Not Guilty

Leave Scene Of A Crash W/Property Damage (M2)

Case Dropped

Motion to Modify and Impose a Withhold of Adjudication

Granted

Attempted Burglary of a Conveyance

Charges dropped

Possession of Cannabis (less than 20 grams)

Charges dropped

VOP for DUI

Reduced to reckless driving

Possession of Alcohol Under the Age of 21

Charges dropped

Driving Under the Influence

Reduced to Reckless Driving

Violation of Probation

Case Dismissed

More Cases

Recent Personal
Injury Settlements

$1,600,000

Sexual Assault Victim

$1,600,000

Car Accident

$290,000

Motorcycle Accident

$200,000

Trip and Fall

$150,000

Car Accident

$110,000

Car Accident

$100,000

Car Accident

$290,000

Car Accident

$120,000

Car Accident

$100,000

Car Accident

$125,000

Car Accident

$125,000

Scooter Accident

$275,000

Car Accident

$100,000

Car Accident

$300,000

Government Liability Case

$100,000

Back Injury

More Settlements