Expired Tag or Vehicle Registration

expired tag in orlando fl

Every Florida driver is required to register their vehicle with the state if it’s driven on public property. The purpose of vehicle registration is to notify the state of ownership while also providing the necessary documentation so that one can be issued a license plate and tag. Vehicle registration can also be used for crime detection and taxation. A registered Florida vehicle will have a paper detailing registration and owner information as well as a yellow tag that’s placed on the license plate identifying when the registration expires. This usually coincides with the vehicle owner’s month of birth.

Driving with an expired tag or registration can not only result in a fine but criminal charges as well. Don’t let a simple lapse in registration land you in jail. Speak with an Orlando traffic crime lawyer who can explain your legal options.

The Orlando expired vehicle registration defense lawyers at The Umansky Law Firm can provide the legal counsel you need to avoid criminal penalties. People often don’t realize the urgency of vehicle registration in Florida and find themselves in legal trouble for an offense they didn’t even know was a crime. Our team is here to fight relentlessly to protect your best interests.

Florida Vehicle Registration Requirements

Registering a vehicle is commonly done alongside the titling process. Floridians are required by state law to register their vehicle within 10 days of establishing residency, becoming employed, or placing children in public school. One must provide proof of Florida auto insurance and the original title of the vehicle to the local license plate agency or tax collector’s office to register their vehicle.

Vehicle registration usually lasts 12 months and proof of registration comes in the form of the yellow tag on the license plate. Florida Statute § 320.07(1) states that a vehicle’s registration expires at midnight on the last day of registration. This has been interpreted by the Florida Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to be midnight on the owner’s birthday. Company-owned vehicles use the first day of June for their registration.

Penalties for Driving with an Expired Tag or Registration

Florida Statute § 320.07(3)(c) states that having a vehicle registration that has been expired for longer than six months is a second-degree misdemeanor punishable by:

  • Up to 60 days in jail
  • Up to $500 in fines

It’s important to note that criminal penalties only apply after a 6-month lapse of vehicle registration. Florida Statute § 320.07(3)(a) states:

“Any person whose motor vehicle or mobile home registration has been expired for a period of 6 months or less commits a noncriminal traffic infraction, punishable as a nonmoving violation as provided in chapter 318. However, a law enforcement officer may not issue a citation for a violation under this paragraph until midnight on the last day of the owner’s birth month of the year the registration expires.”

This means you can still be ticketed for driving with an expired registration, but the act doesn’t become criminal until 6 months have passed.

Defending Against Expired Vehicle Registration 

The Orlando expired vehicle registration defense lawyers at The Umansky Law Firm are ready to provide you with the representation needed to dismiss these claims. With more than 100 years of combined experience and a staff consisting of former state and local prosecutors, we have a wealth of experience handling a variety of criminal cases. 

With traffic crimes like expired vehicle registration in particular, there are a few applicable defenses to help get these charges lessened or even dismissed. The most efficient defense is insufficient evidence as, often times the prosecutor relies solely on the word of the patrol officer who made the stop. As Board Certified Criminal Trial Lawyers, we are aware of the tactics used to get a conviction and can use our extensive insight to your advantage. Contact us today at 407-228-3838 for a free case evaluation.