Orlando Petit Theft Attorney

Orlando Theft Lawyer

If you are suspected of committing a theft offense, you may have received a theft citation in Orange County, Osceola County, Seminole County or another county in central Florida. The citation is essentially a ticket, and while you may not necessarily get arrested or go to jail, you do face the same potential penalties as if you were arrested. Pleading guilty to the citation could be an admission of guilt and can result in penalties such as driver’s license suspension, fines and probation. An Orlando theft citation attorney from The Umansky Law Firm can contest your citation and fight for the best possible outcome on your behalf.

At The Umansky Law Firm, our Florida theft defense attorneys help people throughout Orlando, Kissimmee and central Florida get a second chance. Many of our clients are honest people who made a simple mistake by forgetting to pay for an item before leaving a store. Some are parents who were distracted by their children and forgot to pay for that item in the bottom of their cart.

Do these scenarios sound familiar? We believe that you deserve a second chance for your mistake. We can take immediate action toward contesting the theft charge citation and minimizing consequences such as jail or prison, fines, and a crippling criminal record.

Types of Theft Citations

The level of the theft offense is determined by the monetary value of the stolen items. In general, stolen property valued at less than $300 is misdemeanor theft, while property valued at greater than $300 is grand theft felony.

No theft charge is too small or too large for our attorneys to handle. We have represented clients in Orlando, Kissimmee, Daytona Beach, Brevard County and throughout central Florida in a wide range of theft crimes. As most of us are former prosecutors, we know how the prosecution builds cases against people charged with this crime. While this does not guarantee a successful result, it does give us an advantage in reviewing your case and preparing for challenges in your defense. We are able to look closely at the facts of your particular case and tailor a defense strategy to achieve the desired outcome.

Definition Of Petit Theft In Florida

Florida Statute 812.014 defines petit theft as any theft of property that is worth less than $300 and would not otherwise be classified as grand theft. Examples of items that are worth less than $300 but would be considered grand theft include traffic signs, fire extinguishers and firearms. There are two degrees of petit theft, with a small deviation in dollar amounts between petit theft and grand theft:

  • First-degree petit theft: property valued at less than $300 but $100 or more
  • Second-degree petit theft: property valued at less than $100
  • Grand theft: property valued above $300

We Can Help You Avoid The Penalties For Petty Theft

First-degree petit theft is handled as a first-degree misdemeanor, and is punishable by up to one year in prison and a $1,000 fine.

Second-degree petit theft is handled as a second-degree misdemeanor, and is punishable by up to 60 days in jail and a fine up to $500.

In addition to the above penalties, you will have a criminal record, making it more difficult to obtain employment or credit. If you are seen as a thief, you will be treated as a thief. Our law firm strives to make sure that does not happen to you. We can develop a solid defense strategy on your behalf and explore alternatives as well. First-time offenders may be eligible to participate in a pre-trial diversion program. Successful completion of the program results in a dismissal of the charges.

Contact an Orlando Criminal Defense Lawyer

If you have been cited for a theft offense, talk to a criminal defense attorney at The Umansky Law Firm today. To schedule a free consultation, call us at (407) 228-3838. You can also contact us online.