Orlando Burglary Defense Lawyer

Orlando Theft Lawyer

In Florida, burglary is defined as the entering of a dwelling, conveyance or structure with the intent to commit a crime. The language may sound old-fashioned, but the key element is the word “entering.” You can be charged with burglary for entering someone’s house, a business, or a vehicle (conveyance) if you intend to commit a crime such as theft or assault.

Burglary can be an extremely serious crime in Florida. At The Umansky Law Firm, we are here to protect you from potentially life-changing consequences such as prison time and a permanent criminal record as a convicted felon.

What Is Considered Burglary in Florida?

In Florida, you do not have to actually break into a structure to be charged with burglary. You can be charged with burglary if you open a car door and take a purse that was left on the seat.

Burglary is especially damaging if you commit breaking and entering in addition to the crime. If you enter an occupied structure and this results in a form of assault or battery, you’re going to be facing harsh charges.

The difference between entering an unoccupied vehicle or structure and one that is occupied is the difference between a misdemeanor and a felony. If you commit battery in the process of a burglary, you can be charged with a life felony. You do not have to cause serious injury to be charged with battery. Simply pushing or grabbing someone in connection with a burglary can result in charges that could put you in prison for life.

If you were caught selling the stolen items at a pawn shop or flea market, you may also face charges for dealing in stolen property.

Types of burglary crime charges include:

Defenses in Burglary Cases

There are defenses in burglary cases. One defense may be that you thought you had a right to be where you were. Our experience as former prosecutors allows us to give you an honest evaluation of the strengths and weaknesses of the state’s case so that you will know your options from the start.

Do You Need Help With a Burglary Charge? Contact Us Day or Night.

To schedule a free initial consultation to review your burglary or theft charges, call (407) 228-3838 or chat with us online 24/7.

Recent Criminal
Case Results

Burglary of Dwelling; Petit Theft

Withhold with 6 months probation and impulse control; adjudication withheld

Grand Theft ($300-$5000)

Nolle Prosequi-Case Dropped

CT-Driving Under the Influence Car (M1)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

CT- Driving under the influence car

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

Grand Theft Third Degree

Adjudicated Guilty; One day jail/one day time serve; Restitution fees; Court Cost

Petit Theft < 300

We negotiated an agreement that entailed the State dropping the charge after our client completed a Pre-Trial Diversion Program. The Charge was dropped via a Nolle Prosequi.

Unlawful Speeding

Withhold of Adjudication; No points on license; Paid fine and clerk cost; 8 hour aggressive driver class; 90 days to satisfy fine and class

Shoot/Throw Missile Into Dwell/Struct/Veh; Child Abuse; Criminal Mischief; Battery (Domestic Violence)

No Information Notice - Charges Dropped

Attach Tag/Lic Plate To Unassigned Vehicle (M2)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

DUI with Minor In Car or BAL of .20 or Higher

Pled No Contest, 1 Year Probation, 10 day Car Impound, Community Service

Motion to Modify Probation

Motion Granted in 48 hours

Petit Theft

Adjudication Withheld, 4 Months probation, Costs/Fines, Impulse Control Class

Petit Theft of $100 or MORE (M1)

Nolle Prosequi

Refuse To Submit To DUI Test (M1)

Case Dropped

Battery on Law Enforcement Officer (F3); Disorderly Conduct (M2)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped


Charges Dropped

Scheme to Defraud(F3); Grand Theft(F3)

Motion to Terminate Probation Granted

Unlawful Speed


Failed to Yield at Intersection

Not Guilty

Leave Scene Of A Crash W/Property Damage (M2)

Case Dropped

Motion to Modify and Impose a Withhold of Adjudication


Attempted Burglary of a Conveyance

Charges dropped

Possession of Cannabis (less than 20 grams)

Charges dropped


Reduced to reckless driving

Possession of Alcohol Under the Age of 21

Charges dropped

Driving Under the Influence

Reduced to Reckless Driving

Violation of Probation

Case Dismissed

More Cases

Recent Personal
Injury Settlements


Sexual Assault Victim


Car Accident


Motorcycle Accident


Trip and Fall


Car Accident


Car Accident


Car Accident


Car Accident


Car Accident


Car Accident


Car Accident


Scooter Accident


Car Accident


Car Accident


Government Liability Case


Back Injury

More Settlements