Petit Theft in Orlando Target

A client was charged with Petit Theft from Target. We met with the client and figured out that she and a friend were both arrested on the same charge on the same day in the same store. The client and her friend arrived at the store together and then went in opposite directions to commit their crimes. The defendant was a middle-aged woman who had never been in trouble with the law prior to this incident. While the case seemed like it should’ve been charged as a felony scheme to defraud case, our lawyers were able to convince the prosecutor to leave it as a misdemeanor charge. Also, we were able to convince the prosecutor to put the client into a first offender program. Upon completion of this program, the defendant’s charges will be dropped by the State of Florida. After the defendant’s charges are dropped, the defendant can decide to expunge her record if she chooses. This will allow her to legally deny that anything ever happened with this case.

If you were charged with theft from a store such as Target, contact one of our Orlando theft attorneys at The Umansky Law Firm today. Our phone number is (407) 228-3838. If you are underage and commit crimes such as shoplifting and burglary, we are also experienced Florida juvenile lawyers. There is a unique difference between committing crimes as a juvenile and an adult, so you want a lawyer that thoroughly understands the separate laws to be able to give you the best representation you deserve for your case.

Understanding Petit Theft Charges in Florida

The State of Florida takes theft crimes very seriously. The threshold for grand theft, a felony offense, is a mere $300 — one of the lowest in the nation. Anything below that threshold is considered “petit theft.” Petit theft is the lowest-level theft crime in Florida. It may be a second-degree misdemeanor or a first-degree misdemeanor offense, depending on the value of the stolen property. If you face either type of charge, our attorneys can help you defend yourself

Second-Degree Petit Theft

A person can face a charge of second-degree petit theft for taking property valued at less than $100. The consequences are often not worth the value of the property. A person may face up to 60 days in jail and a fine of up to $500.

First-Degree Petit Theft

If the property allegedly stolen is valued at between $100 and $300, the alleged offender faces charges of first-degree petit theft. This is a serious offense which may lead to:

  • At least one year of imprisonment
  • A fine of up to $1,000

In general, taking property that does not belong to you is never worth the penalties you may face upon a conviction. At the Umansky Law Firm, we understand that mistakes are made every day on both sides of the law. Contact our Orlando larceny defense attorneys at (407) 228-3838 or email us a description of your case for a free consultation.

Recent Criminal
Case Results

Burglary of Dwelling; Petit Theft

Withhold with 6 months probation and impulse control; adjudication withheld

Grand Theft ($300-$5000)

Nolle Prosequi-Case Dropped

CT-Driving Under the Influence Car (M1)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

CT- Driving under the influence car

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

Grand Theft Third Degree

Adjudicated Guilty; One day jail/one day time serve; Restitution fees; Court Cost

Petit Theft < 300

We negotiated an agreement that entailed the State dropping the charge after our client completed a Pre-Trial Diversion Program. The Charge was dropped via a Nolle Prosequi.

Unlawful Speeding

Withhold of Adjudication; No points on license; Paid fine and clerk cost; 8 hour aggressive driver class; 90 days to satisfy fine and class

Shoot/Throw Missile Into Dwell/Struct/Veh; Child Abuse; Criminal Mischief; Battery (Domestic Violence)

No Information Notice - Charges Dropped

Attach Tag/Lic Plate To Unassigned Vehicle (M2)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

DUI with Minor In Car or BAL of .20 or Higher

Pled No Contest, 1 Year Probation, 10 day Car Impound, Community Service

Motion to Modify Probation

Motion Granted in 48 hours

Petit Theft

Adjudication Withheld, 4 Months probation, Costs/Fines, Impulse Control Class

Petit Theft of $100 or MORE (M1)

Nolle Prosequi

Refuse To Submit To DUI Test (M1)

Case Dropped

Battery on Law Enforcement Officer (F3); Disorderly Conduct (M2)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

Battery

Charges Dropped

Scheme to Defraud(F3); Grand Theft(F3)

Motion to Terminate Probation Granted

Unlawful Speed

Dismissed

Failed to Yield at Intersection

Not Guilty

Leave Scene Of A Crash W/Property Damage (M2)

Case Dropped

Motion to Modify and Impose a Withhold of Adjudication

Granted

Attempted Burglary of a Conveyance

Charges dropped

Possession of Cannabis (less than 20 grams)

Charges dropped

VOP for DUI

Reduced to reckless driving

Possession of Alcohol Under the Age of 21

Charges dropped

Driving Under the Influence

Reduced to Reckless Driving

Violation of Probation

Case Dismissed

More Cases

Recent Personal
Injury Settlements

$1,600,000

Sexual Assault Victim

$1,600,000

Car Accident

$290,000

Motorcycle Accident

$200,000

Trip and Fall

$150,000

Car Accident

$110,000

Car Accident

$100,000

Car Accident

$290,000

Car Accident

$120,000

Car Accident

$100,000

Car Accident

$125,000

Car Accident

$125,000

Scooter Accident

$275,000

Car Accident

$100,000

Car Accident

$300,000

Government Liability Case

$100,000

Back Injury

More Settlements