The Umansky Law Firm talks about what to expect with new Florida texting and driving ban

Because of the immense dangers posed from texting and driving, this hazardous habit has consistently been banned in states around the country over the years. Starting October 1st, Florida will initiate the ban for drivers in the state, making it the 41st state in the nation to have some sort of law in place prohibiting texting while operating a motor vehicle. Unlike other states, there will be no “grace period” where Floridians will learn more about the penalties associated with the ban along with how they actually will be cited for it.

The Umansky Law Firm, a criminal defense law firm located in Orlando, Florida, defends hundreds of citizens accused of traffic violations every year. Floridians are typically pulled over for speeding, running red lights and stop signs, reckless driving, driving under the influence, and driving with an expired license.

The bill aims to “improve roadway safety for all vehicle operators”, “prevent crashes related to the act of text messaging while driving a motor vehicle”, and “reduce injuries, deaths, property damage, health care costs, health insurance rates, and automobile insurance rates related to motor vehicle crashes”, according to legislation.

Since it is a secondary offense, an individual cannot be pulled over solely for texting and driving. The driver must be pulled over for other traffic violations, like speeding or reckless driving. Only then may they be cited for texting and driving by way of the discretion of the law enforcement officer.

Lawmakers are spending marginal resources to promote the new law, so widespread awareness may take time for many Floridians.

William Umansky, founder of the Umansky Law Firm, said “It will be interesting to see how police will enforce this law. I am worried that they will ask motorists for their phones and attempt to look at their personal information to determine if the motorist was illegally texting.”

The costs associated with this new law are $30 plus court costs for the first offense; $60 for the second.

The bill is under heavy criticism from some Florida politicians because of it being a secondary offense and essentially harmless if the driver is doing nothing else wrong on the road.

With his closing thought about what the most viable impact of the new law will be, Mr. Umansky said, “In reality, other than visually observing a motorist text, how will police determine whether a violation has taken place? I am concerned that police will overstep their bounds, invade privacy rights of Florida citizens and use it as a pretext to search vehicles.”

The bill also includes many exceptions to the law, many of them including emergency situations and exclusions for emergency vehicles. An individual may also text at red lights and use voice communication like iPhone’s Siri to translate speech to text.

Recent Criminal
Case Results

Burglary of Dwelling; Petit Theft

Withhold with 6 months probation and impulse control; adjudication withheld

Grand Theft ($300-$5000)

Nolle Prosequi-Case Dropped

CT-Driving Under the Influence Car (M1)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

CT- Driving under the influence car

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

Grand Theft Third Degree

Adjudicated Guilty; One day jail/one day time serve; Restitution fees; Court Cost

Petit Theft < 300

We negotiated an agreement that entailed the State dropping the charge after our client completed a Pre-Trial Diversion Program. The Charge was dropped via a Nolle Prosequi.

Unlawful Speeding

Withhold of Adjudication; No points on license; Paid fine and clerk cost; 8 hour aggressive driver class; 90 days to satisfy fine and class

Shoot/Throw Missile Into Dwell/Struct/Veh; Child Abuse; Criminal Mischief; Battery (Domestic Violence)

No Information Notice - Charges Dropped

Attach Tag/Lic Plate To Unassigned Vehicle (M2)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

DUI with Minor In Car or BAL of .20 or Higher

Pled No Contest, 1 Year Probation, 10 day Car Impound, Community Service

Motion to Modify Probation

Motion Granted in 48 hours

Petit Theft

Adjudication Withheld, 4 Months probation, Costs/Fines, Impulse Control Class

Petit Theft of $100 or MORE (M1)

Nolle Prosequi

Refuse To Submit To DUI Test (M1)

Case Dropped

Battery on Law Enforcement Officer (F3); Disorderly Conduct (M2)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped


Charges Dropped

Scheme to Defraud(F3); Grand Theft(F3)

Motion to Terminate Probation Granted

Unlawful Speed


Failed to Yield at Intersection

Not Guilty

Leave Scene Of A Crash W/Property Damage (M2)

Case Dropped

Motion to Modify and Impose a Withhold of Adjudication


Attempted Burglary of a Conveyance

Charges dropped

Possession of Cannabis (less than 20 grams)

Charges dropped


Reduced to reckless driving

Possession of Alcohol Under the Age of 21

Charges dropped

Driving Under the Influence

Reduced to Reckless Driving

Violation of Probation

Case Dismissed

More Cases

Recent Personal
Injury Settlements


Sexual Assault Victim


Car Accident


Motorcycle Accident


Trip and Fall


Car Accident


Car Accident


Car Accident


Car Accident


Car Accident


Car Accident


Car Accident


Scooter Accident


Car Accident


Car Accident


Government Liability Case


Back Injury

More Settlements