Port Orange DUI Lawyer

Driving under the influence in Florida can have grave consequences, even if you’ve only had one drink. Failing a breathalyzer or blood test will result in an arrest and one can expect criminal charges to soon follow. With legal ramifications being a guarantee in the event of a conviction, it is imperative to hire an experienced and skillful attorney to fight for your rights.

A DUI arrest can lead to substantial fines, losing your license, and even jail time, so you want to make sure you’re protecting yourself and your future. A Port Orange DUI lawyer with The Umansky Law Firm will examine your case and investigate the circumstances to build an impermeable defense. With a seasoned lawyer on your side, you stand a much better chance of having your charges reduced or even dropped altogether if possible.

Defenses for DUI in Port Orange

Few people try to fight their DUI case. The main reason that most people don’t challenge a claim in court is that they feel like they’ve already lost, especially if they’ve failed a breathalyzer test. There are numerous ways to effectively defend against a DUI charge. An experienced DUI lawyer can present one of the following defenses:

  • Inaccurate Breath Test Results: Breathalyzer tests can sometimes be inaccurate as external factors can alter the reading. Things like chemical interference, machine errors, operator errors, and testing errors can all lead to a false reading on a breathalyzer. If the attorney can prove any of those factors was in play, the results of the test may be deemed inadmissible by the court.
  • Unjust Traffic Stop: For a person to be convicted of a DUI, the arresting police officer must have had probable cause for stopping them in the first place. Without probable cause, the officer cannot perform a traffic stop, thus making a DUI arrest unjust.

Florida DUI Penalties

Having a DUI arrest on your record may affect more than you think. Certain professionals may face ramifications at work, while others must be concerned with it becoming an aggravating factor in a future crime. DUI first-offenders in Florida face the following penalties:

  • License suspension
  • Up to six months in jail
  • Fines of up to $1,000
  • Fifty hours of community service

There are even instances when a judge can order for you to have an ignition interlock device installed in your car. This device requires you to blow in a tube to gauge your blood alcohol concentration level before you can start your car. If you are over the legal limit, you will not be able to start your car. To avoid such consequences from affecting you, secure legal help from a seasoned criminal defense lawyer.

The Port Orange DUI lawyers at The Umansky Law Firm have over 100 years of combined experience representing those facing serious charges. We understand the severity of the issue and the vitality of you getting out of it unscathed. We will put our legal experience to work for you to best mitigate your criminal charges. Contact us today at 407-228-3838 for a free case evaluation.