Polk County DUI Lawyers

The flashing lights behind you signaling you to pull over to the side of the road inflict a sense of dread that rushes through your veins. This is the moment you never thought you’d find yourself in. As the cop questions you, dozens of fears flood your mind. Polk County police officers have every incentive to go after DUI suspects and will often pick up on the slightest deviation in driving behavior to investigate a driver for DUI. If you were recently arrested for DUI in Polk County, the best chance you have to protect your future and avoid the multitude of repercussions that typically follow such charges is to work with a team of Polk County DUI lawyers.

Consequences of a Polk County DUI

Most DUI charges are misdemeanor charges unless there were aggravating circumstances, such as a person was injured or killed because of an intoxicated driver. A standard first-time DUI conviction can lead to:

  • License suspension
  • Up to six months in jail
  • Fines of up to $1,000
  • Fifty hours of community service

Penalties may be enhanced for drivers who blew over 0.15 BAC or who had a minor in the vehicle at the time of the DUI stop.

Second DUI Within 5 Years

A second-time DUI in Florida is also typically a misdemeanor offense; however, the penalties are worse than they are for a first-time DUI, and penalties vary based on whether your second DUI occurred within 5 years of your first or after 5 years have passed. A second DUI within 5 years can lead to:

  • License suspension for a minimum of 5 years
  • Fines ranging from $1,000 to $2,000 or $2,000 to $4,000 if BAC was 0.15+
  • Vehicle impoundment for 30 days
  • Mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device (IID) for one year
  • Mandatory jail time of up to nine months
  • Community service
  • Probation
  • DUI school

Again, penalties may be enhanced if at the time of the stop a minor was present or a person sustained serious bodily injury. A person with or without a DUI conviction could also face several hardships down the road when applying to jobs or finding a new place to live. Even if you are never convicted, merely having criminal charges on record could prevent you from pursuing many opportunities.

Felony DUI

A third-time DUI within ten years can be charged as a third-degree felony offense and is punishable by a fine of up to $5,000 and/ or up to five years in a Florida state prison.

A DUI is a serious matter that should be investigated by a professional attorney who has years of experience handling such cases. A Polk County DUI lawyer can consider the police officer’s actions, reasoning for the stop, efficacy of the testing methods that were used and other factors to possibly have your charges dropped or reduced to lesser charges.

The consequences you may face for any DUI in Polk County can be complex and damaging to your future, your reputation, and your way of life. Don’t face your charges alone. At The Umansky Law Firm, we employ a team of DUI attorneys in Polk County who are eager to uphold your rights throughout the judicial process. We have over 60 years of combined experience practicing criminal law in Polk County and beyond. Everyone deserves a second chance; are you ready for yours? Call 407-228-3838 or contact us online to schedule a free consultation. Our live chat is also available 24/7.