New Florida Law May Leave Injured Patrons Without Recourse

Earlier this year, a new Florida law took effect with significant consequences for people who are injured as the result of slip-and-fall accidents. The new law makes it more difficult for those who are injured while on the premises of a business to obtain fair compensation for their injuries.

With the new law, those injured by slipping or tripping and falling will have to prove the business knew or should have known about the hazardous condition causing the fall, and that the business failed to remedy the situation. Although many business owners celebrate this change, many who represent injured people are concerned that this shift will leave seriously injured people with limited legal recourse.

The Evolution of Slip-and-Fall Lawsuits

Under the traditional common law rule, businesses that opened their premises to the public owed their visitors a broad duty of care. Businesses were expected to make the property safe for guests, conducting a reasonable search for potential hazards and warning guests of hazards that could not be remedied.

Many states have retained this duty of care. It assumes that the business owners have a greater opportunity to recognize the dangers on the property than visitors, and that they have an obligation to address these dangers, since presumably they want customers to enter the premises.

In Florida, the law used to be slightly different than the common law rule. An injured person simply had to demonstrate that he or she was injured by an out-of-place substance, such as a puddle. Much like the common law standard, though, this placed the burden on business owners to maintain the integrity of the property. Businesses were expected to keep the aisles clear and take care of any hazards promptly.

In addition to placing the burden of maintaining a safe environment on the business, both of these standards give businesses incentive to fully investigate following an accident. Florida businesses could examine the situation and determine what happened; with the threat of a potential lawsuit, the businesses had incentive to investigate.

Changes to Florida Slip-and-Fall Law Place Burden on the Injured

Under the new law, the burden of proving what happened shifts to the injured person. The problem is that when someone has fallen and becomes seriously injured, that person is likely to be focused on getting medical attention – not collecting the names of witnesses and documenting the incident. An injured person is not in a position to effectively examine the situation.

Unfortunately, though, this is the current standard in Florida. Accordingly, it is more important than ever that those who are injured understand the most effective ways to protect their rights and interests. Speak with a knowledgeable personal injury attorney to discuss your potential legal remedies following a slip and fall accident.

Recent Criminal
Case Results

Burglary of Dwelling; Petit Theft

Withhold with 6 months probation and impulse control; adjudication withheld

Grand Theft ($300-$5000)

Nolle Prosequi-Case Dropped

CT-Driving Under the Influence Car (M1)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

CT- Driving under the influence car

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

Grand Theft Third Degree

Adjudicated Guilty; One day jail/one day time serve; Restitution fees; Court Cost

Petit Theft < 300

We negotiated an agreement that entailed the State dropping the charge after our client completed a Pre-Trial Diversion Program. The Charge was dropped via a Nolle Prosequi.

Unlawful Speeding

Withhold of Adjudication; No points on license; Paid fine and clerk cost; 8 hour aggressive driver class; 90 days to satisfy fine and class

Shoot/Throw Missile Into Dwell/Struct/Veh; Child Abuse; Criminal Mischief; Battery (Domestic Violence)

No Information Notice - Charges Dropped

Attach Tag/Lic Plate To Unassigned Vehicle (M2)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

DUI with Minor In Car or BAL of .20 or Higher

Pled No Contest, 1 Year Probation, 10 day Car Impound, Community Service

Motion to Modify Probation

Motion Granted in 48 hours

Petit Theft

Adjudication Withheld, 4 Months probation, Costs/Fines, Impulse Control Class

Petit Theft of $100 or MORE (M1)

Nolle Prosequi

Refuse To Submit To DUI Test (M1)

Case Dropped

Battery on Law Enforcement Officer (F3); Disorderly Conduct (M2)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped


Charges Dropped

Scheme to Defraud(F3); Grand Theft(F3)

Motion to Terminate Probation Granted

Unlawful Speed


Failed to Yield at Intersection

Not Guilty

Leave Scene Of A Crash W/Property Damage (M2)

Case Dropped

Motion to Modify and Impose a Withhold of Adjudication


Attempted Burglary of a Conveyance

Charges dropped

Possession of Cannabis (less than 20 grams)

Charges dropped


Reduced to reckless driving

Possession of Alcohol Under the Age of 21

Charges dropped

Driving Under the Influence

Reduced to Reckless Driving

Violation of Probation

Case Dismissed

More Cases

Recent Personal
Injury Settlements


Sexual Assault Victim


Car Accident


Motorcycle Accident


Trip and Fall


Car Accident


Car Accident


Car Accident


Car Accident


Car Accident


Car Accident


Car Accident


Scooter Accident


Car Accident


Car Accident


Government Liability Case


Back Injury

More Settlements