Florida Negligence Laws

Under Florida law if you are negligent or at fault for causing an automobile accident and injure someone else you can be liable for their damages which may include past and future medical expenses, past lost wages, future loss of earning capacity, and past and future pain and suffering damages. These are commonly referred to as compensatory damages- where an innocent victim of an automobile accident is compensated for their economic damages (medical bills and wage loss) and for their non-economic damages (pain and suffering).

It is very important to have adequate bodily injury (BI) coverage under your automobile insurance policy to protect you from personal responsibility for any damages you cause while operating a motor vehicle over and above your insurance coverage limits. However your automobile insurance only covers you for damages for your negligent acts while operating a motor vehicle and does not cover you for intentional acts committed while legally intoxicated from alcohol or drugs while operating a motor vehicle.

This is what is known as policy coverage exclusion under your automobile insurance policy. For example, if you were legally intoxicated and rear ended someone causing them bodily injuries you could be sued for compensatory damages which your automobile insurance would cover, but could also be sued for punitive damages which would not be covered under your automobile insurance policy.

Punitive damages are meant to punish the wrongdoer for their harmful conduct, and therefore the wrongdoer would be personally responsible to pay these damages as they would be excluded from coverage under their automobile insurance policy.

Recent Criminal
Case Results

Grand Theft ($300-$5000)

Nolle Prosequi-Case Dropped

CT-Driving Under the Influence Car (M1)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

CT- Driving under the influence car

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

Grand Theft Third Degree

Adjudicated Guilty; One day jail/one day time serve; Restitution fees; Court Cost

Petit Theft < 300

We negotiated an agreement that entailed the State dropping the charge after our client completed a Pre-Trial Diversion Program. The Charge was dropped via a Nolle Prosequi.

Unlawful Speeding

Withhold of Adjudication; No points on license; Paid fine and clerk cost; 8 hour aggressive driver class; 90 days to satisfy fine and class

Shoot/Throw Missile Into Dwell/Struct/Veh; Child Abuse; Criminal Mischief; Battery (Domestic Violence)

No Information Notice - Charges Dropped

Attach Tag/Lic Plate To Unassigned Vehicle (M2)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

DUI with Minor In Car or BAL of .20 or Higher

Pled No Contest, 1 Year Probation, 10 day Car Impound, Community Service

Motion to Modify Probation

Motion Granted in 48 hours

Petit Theft

Adjudication Withheld, 4 Months probation, Costs/Fines, Impulse Control Class

Petit Theft of $100 or MORE (M1)

Nolle Prosequi

Refuse To Submit To DUI Test (M1)

Case Dropped

Battery on Law Enforcement Officer (F3); Disorderly Conduct (M2)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped


Charges Dropped

Scheme to Defraud(F3); Grand Theft(F3)

Motion to Terminate Probation Granted

Unlawful Speed


Failed to Yield at Intersection

Not Guilty

Leave Scene Of A Crash W/Property Damage (M2)

Case Dropped

Motion to Modify and Impose a Withhold of Adjudication


Attempted Burglary of a Conveyance

Charges dropped

Possession of Cannabis (less than 20 grams)

Charges dropped


Reduced to reckless driving

Possession of Alcohol Under the Age of 21

Charges dropped

Driving Under the Influence

Reduced to Reckless Driving

Violation of Probation

Case Dismissed

More Cases

Recent Personal
Injury Settlements


Scooter Accident


Car Accident


Car Accident


Government Liability Case


Back Injury

More Settlements