Orlando Hit & Run Accident Attorney

While Florida requires car insurance to get a driver’s license, many drivers decide to stop making their premium payments or outright drop their coverage. When an accident occurs, they sometimes flee the scene, knowing that their lack of coverage is illegal and they will be held responsible. In some accidents, their negligence causes the victim of the hit-and-run to collide with another car or several cars.

These negligent acts can have a severe impact on Florida residents and their family members injured in an accident. At The Umansky Law Firm, our job is to maximize your compensation when insurance coverage is not available.

Immediate Actions After a Hit-and-Run Accident

Hit-and-run accidents are some of the most frightening experiences to be involved in. Not only were you involved in a traumatic experience, but you are left there alone and possibly in the line of more danger. Although the other driver has left the scene of the accident, you should not:

  • Drive off
  • Hesitate to call the police
  • Not report the accident
  • Remain in your vehicle in the line of danger
  • Unnecessarily block traffic

You should also refrain from following the individual involved in the accident. You have no way of knowing if that person is under the influence of drugs or alcohol, is carrying a weapon, or has just committed a crime and is fleeing police. Rather than pursue the other driver, you should:

  • Document their license plate number
  • Record the make, model, and color of the other vehicle
  • Take notice of the direction the vehicle went
  • Describe any damage to the vehicle
  • Identify potential witnesses
  • Record the time, location, and cause of the accident

By taking the appropriate post-accident measures, you should have everything you need for law enforcement to conduct an investigation and for your attorney to build a case.

Florida Hit-and-Run Accident Penalties

Florida Statute § 316.061 states that:

“The driver of any vehicle involved in a crash resulting only in damage to a vehicle or other property which is driven or attended by any person shall immediately stop such vehicle at the scene of such crash or as close thereto as possible, and shall forthwith return to, and in every event shall remain at, the scene of the crash…”

Anyone who fails to meet this requirement is guilty of  a second-degree misdemeanor and subjected to the associated penalties:

  • Up to 6 months probation; and/or
  • Up to 60 days in jail; and
  • Up to $500 in fines

Leaving the scene of an accident that caused an injury is a third-degree felony punishable up to 5 years in prison and up to $5000 in fines.  Leaving the scene of an accident where a death occurred is a first-degree felony has a maximum sentence of up to 30 years in prison and $10,000 in fines.

The party responsible for your hit-and-run accident should be able to continue you on with their everyday life while you’re tasked with recovering from injuries or worst, mourning the loss of a loved one. Reach out to an Orlando hit-and-run accident lawyer who can explain your legal options for recovery for all accident-related damages.

Representing Florida Residents Injured in Hit-and-Run Accidents

While it is essential to contact the police immediately after the accident and secure the names and contact information of witnesses, the responsible party may never be found. A personal injury claim becomes complex, requiring you to retain a seasoned car accident attorney in Florida who will explore all options towards getting you the compensation you deserve.

We conduct a detailed evaluation of your insurance policy to see if uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage is included. That type of insurance can cover medical bills, future rehab costs, and lost wages within certain limits.

Having car insurance coverage when others do not can provide not only compensation but also peace of mind. Finding an experienced hit-and-run accident lawyer may also offer you additional ease in the process.

Get Help From an Experienced Hit and Run Accident Lawyer

At The Umansky Law Firm, we provide the same aggressive representation to all personal injury clients, regardless of the severity of their injuries. The only thing that matters is that you were injured as a result of the negligent actions of a third party. Our diversely-qualified legal team has combined experience that eclipses over 100 years. Allow our legal experts to fight for you.

Call 407-228-3838 to speak to one of our auto accident injury lawyers anytime for a free consultation.


$
0
RECOVERED FOR OUR CLIENTS SO FAR
Sometimes you may be in a difficult situation and may not be able to
defuse the situation without going to court.