Juvenile Sex Crimes

Sex crime accusations are serious no matter if those involved are adults or minors. Juvenile sex crimes, in particular, are increasingly common, but not for the reason many believe. A teen can pick up a charge for a sex crime for having a nude picture of his teenage girlfriend on his phone or getting caught having sexual relations. Being that the age of sexual consent in Florida is 18, a father who finds his teenage daughter in bed with another teen can rightfully file charges against the boy.

Although Romeo and Juliet laws provide a route to avoid sex offender registration for teenagers of a certain age and within a specific age gap, state law permits the conviction of teenagers engaged in illegal sex activities. Even if you avoid sex offender registration, a sex crime conviction can be one of the worst things to have on your record. The Orlando juvenile sex crime lawyers at The Umansky Law Firm can analyze your case and help mitigate whatever charges you may be facing.

Types of Juvenile Sex Crimes

Numerous situations can lead to a juvenile sex crime charge. The more severe crimes like sexual assault, battery and molestation, incest and rape are serious offenses that are often aggressively prosecuted; however, not all sex crimes (especially those involving juveniles) are as heinous. Many juvenile sex crime charges result from:

Sexting, in particular, has become more common as cell phones have become more advanced and more teenagers possess them now than ever. The sending of sexual text messages may seem harmless to some, but when those same images and videos are used to bully and expose an individual, there can be dire consequences.

Juvenile Sexting Charges and Penalties

Sexting occurs when one individual sends erotic content via text message to another individual commonly in the form of a picture or video. Two adults who engage in this behavior have nothing to fear as it is perfectly legal. However, those under the age of 18 are considered minors in Florida, and therefore, any sexually explicit content is considered child pornography.

Possession of child pornography is a felony in the third degree punishable by up to five years probation, five years in years in prison, and $5,000 in fines. If a teenager shares a “sext” to a group of friends, the individual may face charges for promoting a sexual performance by a child. This crime is a felony in the second degree punishable by up to 15 years probation, 15 years in prison, and $10,000 in fines. Sex offender registration may also be mandatory in particular instances.

The prosecution is unlikely to go easy on a defendant merely because he or she is a minor or a first-time offender. It is essential to have a seasoned criminal defense attorney by your side every step of the way.

Orlando Juvenile Sex Crime Defense Lawyer

The Orlando juvenile sex crime lawyers at The Umansky Law Firm have handled many cases involving minors. We don’t believe that one poor decision as a teenager should permanently alter one’s life. Everyone deserves a second chance. Through the implementation of proven effective criminal defense strategies, we can help give you a much-needed second chance.

Our attorneys have over 100 years of criminal law experience and continue to represent the accused of the Greater Central Florida area. As former prosecutors on the state and local level, we have a thorough understanding of how the opposition approaches juvenile sex crime cases. Allow us to use that insight to your advantage. Contact us today at 407-228-3838 for a free case evaluation.

Recent Criminal
Case Results

Burglary of Dwelling; Petit Theft

Withhold with 6 months probation and impulse control; adjudication withheld

Grand Theft ($300-$5000)

Nolle Prosequi-Case Dropped

CT-Driving Under the Influence Car (M1)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

CT- Driving under the influence car

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

Grand Theft Third Degree

Adjudicated Guilty; One day jail/one day time serve; Restitution fees; Court Cost

Petit Theft < 300

We negotiated an agreement that entailed the State dropping the charge after our client completed a Pre-Trial Diversion Program. The Charge was dropped via a Nolle Prosequi.

Unlawful Speeding

Withhold of Adjudication; No points on license; Paid fine and clerk cost; 8 hour aggressive driver class; 90 days to satisfy fine and class

Shoot/Throw Missile Into Dwell/Struct/Veh; Child Abuse; Criminal Mischief; Battery (Domestic Violence)

No Information Notice - Charges Dropped

Attach Tag/Lic Plate To Unassigned Vehicle (M2)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

DUI with Minor In Car or BAL of .20 or Higher

Pled No Contest, 1 Year Probation, 10 day Car Impound, Community Service

Motion to Modify Probation

Motion Granted in 48 hours

Petit Theft

Adjudication Withheld, 4 Months probation, Costs/Fines, Impulse Control Class

Petit Theft of $100 or MORE (M1)

Nolle Prosequi

Refuse To Submit To DUI Test (M1)

Case Dropped

Battery on Law Enforcement Officer (F3); Disorderly Conduct (M2)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

Battery

Charges Dropped

Scheme to Defraud(F3); Grand Theft(F3)

Motion to Terminate Probation Granted

Unlawful Speed

Dismissed

Failed to Yield at Intersection

Not Guilty

Leave Scene Of A Crash W/Property Damage (M2)

Case Dropped

Motion to Modify and Impose a Withhold of Adjudication

Granted

Attempted Burglary of a Conveyance

Charges dropped

Possession of Cannabis (less than 20 grams)

Charges dropped

VOP for DUI

Reduced to reckless driving

Possession of Alcohol Under the Age of 21

Charges dropped

Driving Under the Influence

Reduced to Reckless Driving

Violation of Probation

Case Dismissed

More Cases

Recent Personal
Injury Settlements

$1,600,000

Sexual Assault Victim

$1,600,000

Car Accident

$290,000

Motorcycle Accident

$200,000

Trip and Fall

$150,000

Car Accident

$110,000

Car Accident

$100,000

Car Accident

$290,000

Car Accident

$120,000

Car Accident

$100,000

Car Accident

$125,000

Car Accident

$125,000

Scooter Accident

$275,000

Car Accident

$100,000

Car Accident

$300,000

Government Liability Case

$100,000

Back Injury

More Settlements