Orlando Juvenile Shoplifting Attorneys

Juvenile Defense Attorney

It’s not unusual for a young child to shoplift. While there are occasions when underage kids intentionally conceal an item and walk out of a business with it, there are many other situations where children unintentionally walk out with a store item in their possession.  Usually, the incident is resolved by the parent leading the child back to the store to return the item and apologize. Unfortunately, major department stores such as Macy’s, Kohl’s, Target, Claire’s, Walmart and Sears are not as forgiving as they were in the past.

Many department stores will accept a return and an apology if the item is under a certain amount, but once it’s higher than a set value, loss protection is instructed to call law enforcement officers upon identifying the individual and retrieving the item.  For many stores, the price point is around  $20. Regardless of the pleas of the parent or the child returning the item, the police will be called, and the child will be arrested.

Underage kids often make decisions they regret. One poor decision should not soil your child’s reputation. The Orlando juvenile shoplifting lawyers at The Umansky Law Firm can help have penalties lessened and even take the necessary steps toward having your child’s record cleared.

Shoplifting Charges in Florida

In Florida, the seriousness of a shoplifting charge depends upon the amount taken. Many people assume that if the accused is an individual under the age of eighteen that the crime is automatically a misdemeanor. That’s not the case.  Theft of $300 in merchandise or less is a misdemeanor. Theft of $300 or more in merchandise is a felony no matter the age of the accused.

When a juvenile is accused of shoplifting, the case is usually handled in juvenile court rather than adult criminal court. Juvenile punishments typically include fines, restitution, special classes and community service. The most serious consequence can be a juvenile record and potential loss of college scholarships. Even if the individual does not serve jail time, the offense will be on his or her record if found guilty.

Sealing Shoplifting Records for Minors

Juvenile records are not completely sealed as many would believe. While private businesses cannot access juvenile records, those records can be accessed by the military and the government. If your child is arrested in the future, those juvenile records would be accessible to prosecutors and could lead to your child facing more serious consequences as an adult. Also, certain professions such as teachers, lawyers and, health care professionals may have access to such records as well.

Some juveniles, however, can have their criminal records expunged upon the successful completion of a diversion program. Other than that, they’ll have to wait until they reach a certain age before their record is sealed and even then they can be seen by the previously mentioned entities. Florida law states that:

  • Juvenile records are expunged once the individual turns 24 years-old unless he or she has been classified as a habitual or serious offender or has been committed to a juvenile correctional facility or juvenile prison under Chapter 985. Statute 943.0515(1)(b)
  • Juvenile records are expunged once the individual turns 26 years-old if the person has been classified as a habitual or serious offender or has been committed to a juvenile correctional facility or juvenile prison under Chapter 985. Statute 943.0515(1)(a)
  • The juvenile forfeits his or her opportunity to have records automatically expunged if charged with or convicted of an adult forcible felony. Statute 943.0515(2)(a)

Contact a Juvenile Defense Attorney

We are seeing more stores pressing charges against juvenile and adult shoplifters. At The Umansky Law Firm, our Orlando juvenile defense attorneys are here to protect your child from consequences that could harm him or her in the future. We have more than 100 years of combined experience that we use when handling these and other juvenile cases.

Is your child facing shoplifting charges? Let us protect your child’s future. Everyone deserves a second chance. To schedule a free case review with an Orlando juvenile shoplifting attorney at The Umansky Law Firm, contact us online or call 407-228-3838.

Recent Criminal
Case Results

Grand Theft ($300-$5000)

Nolle Prosequi-Case Dropped

CT-Driving Under the Influence Car (M1)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

CT- Driving under the influence car

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

Grand Theft Third Degree

Adjudicated Guilty; One day jail/one day time serve; Restitution fees; Court Cost

Petit Theft < 300

We negotiated an agreement that entailed the State dropping the charge after our client completed a Pre-Trial Diversion Program. The Charge was dropped via a Nolle Prosequi.

Unlawful Speeding

Withhold of Adjudication; No points on license; Paid fine and clerk cost; 8 hour aggressive driver class; 90 days to satisfy fine and class

Shoot/Throw Missile Into Dwell/Struct/Veh; Child Abuse; Criminal Mischief; Battery (Domestic Violence)

No Information Notice - Charges Dropped

Attach Tag/Lic Plate To Unassigned Vehicle (M2)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

DUI with Minor In Car or BAL of .20 or Higher

Pled No Contest, 1 Year Probation, 10 day Car Impound, Community Service

Motion to Modify Probation

Motion Granted in 48 hours

Petit Theft

Adjudication Withheld, 4 Months probation, Costs/Fines, Impulse Control Class

Petit Theft of $100 or MORE (M1)

Nolle Prosequi

Refuse To Submit To DUI Test (M1)

Case Dropped

Battery on Law Enforcement Officer (F3); Disorderly Conduct (M2)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

Battery

Charges Dropped

Scheme to Defraud(F3); Grand Theft(F3)

Motion to Terminate Probation Granted

Unlawful Speed

Dismissed

Failed to Yield at Intersection

Not Guilty

Leave Scene Of A Crash W/Property Damage (M2)

Case Dropped

Motion to Modify and Impose a Withhold of Adjudication

Granted

Attempted Burglary of a Conveyance

Charges dropped

Possession of Cannabis (less than 20 grams)

Charges dropped

VOP for DUI

Reduced to reckless driving

Possession of Alcohol Under the Age of 21

Charges dropped

Driving Under the Influence

Reduced to Reckless Driving

Violation of Probation

Case Dismissed

More Cases

Recent Personal
Injury Settlements

$125,000

Scooter Accident

$275,000

Car Accident

$100,000

Car Accident

$300,000

Government Liability Case

$100,000

Back Injury

More Settlements