Juvenile Disorderly Conduct

Juvenile disorderly conduct

There’s a familiar saying that “kids will be kids.” Unfortunately, sometimes when teens are “being kids,” they go too far, and the police get called. Several individuals under the age of 18 come into contact with the law during their teen years. When that happens, it’s important to know what to do next.

The attorneys at The Umansky Law Firm are committed to being here for you. We stand by parents and their children charged with juvenile offenses and work tirelessly to build a viable defense strategy that stands up in court so that children can get a second chance at life. 

What is Considered Disorderly Conduct in Florida?

Disorderly conduct is a common juvenile charge in the state of Florida. Unlike other criminal charges that are relatively straightforward, disorderly conduct is a charge that leaves room for interpretation. Often, juveniles are charged with disorderly conduct while at school or hanging out with friends. However, many disorderly conduct charges can easily be defended with the right attorney.

Florida Statute 877.03 states that disorderly conduct is committed when an individual:

“ … commits such acts as are of a nature to corrupt the public morals, or outrage the sense of public decency, or affect the peace and quiet of persons who may witness them, or engages in brawling or fighting, or engages in such conduct as to constitute a breach of the peace or disorderly conduct, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor of the second degree.”

Examples of disorderly conduct include:

  • Violating noise ordinances
  • Disturbing the peace
  • Loitering
  • Behaviors that compromise the safety of others

If your child is facing juvenile disorderly conduct charges, it’s important to seek the help of a trusted attorney as quickly as possible.

What are the Penalties of Juvenile Disorderly Conduct?

Most juveniles facing disorderly conduct charges are tried in juvenile court. In Florida, disorderly conduct is considered a second-degree misdemeanor. The penalties for a second-degree misdemeanor should be taken seriously since they include:

  • Up to 60 days incarceration
  • Up to 6 months probation
  • Up to $500 in fines

When a juvenile is charged with other crimes in addition to disorderly conduct, the penalties become more severe. Any time a person under the age of 18 faces charges, their parents or guardians should contact a knowledgeable and aggressive attorney.

Possible Defenses for Juveniles Facing Disorderly Conduct Charges

Every disorderly conduct case is different, meaning it takes research and careful attention to the facts of the case to build a viable defense. At The Umansky Law Firm, we are committed to our clients and work hard to get to know them and their case. We build the most solid defenses we can based on the details of the case and will stop at nothing to help you mitigate the charges you or your child face. 

Common defense strategies for juvenile disorderly conduct charges include:

  • Lack of evidence
  • Entrapment
  • Misunderstanding or miscommunication
  • Unavailability of evidence

Attorneys with the Umansky Law Firm have worked with juveniles for decades. We fully believe that everyone deserves a second chance, regardless of the mistakes they made that may have led to criminal charges. Find out how we can build a defense for you or your child.

Top Juvenile Criminal Defense Attorneys In Central Florida

The attorneys at The Umansky Law Firm have more than 100 years of combined experience representing individuals just like you across Central Florida. We believe that your life shouldn’t be defined by a single mistake and will fight tirelessly for your defense when the odds are stacked against you. Our law firm is highly rated on Avvo.com and we are members of the Florida Super Lawyers.

To schedule your free consultation, call The Umansky at 407-228-3838 or fill out our online contact form today. We’re attorneys who will fight for you.