Fourth DUI Offense

fourth dui offense

A DUI is one of the most severe misdemeanor offenses you can be charged with in Florida, notably because of the fact that you can never have a DUI conviction expunged from your criminal record. If you have been arrested for DUI more than once, you might already have a fair understanding of how the state treats these crimes. If you are arrested for DUI #4, you should know that your charges are no longer considered misdemeanors; a fourth DUI offense is a felony for which you need a qualified defense attorney on your case.

Florida Takes DUI Matters Seriously

According to the CDC,  8,476 people were killed in crashes involving a drunk driver in the state of Florida from 2003-2012. 2.1% of Florida drivers reported that they drive after drinking heavily. The state of Florida has an important mission to crack down on drunk driving accidents and fatalities, and has ample resources with which to succeed.

Those who are arrested for multiple DUIs know that the penalties and punishments increase with each new conviction. The worst punishments for DUI offenders are issued in cases involving drivers who had minors in their vehicles at the time of the DUI stop, who blew over 0.15%, and those who caused injury or death to another. By the time you get to DUI #4, you can expect severe penalties upon a conviction.

Consequences of a Felony DUI Conviction

A fourth or subsequent DUI is a third-degree felony offense. Being convicted of such an offense leads to penalties much worse than those for all the previous DUIs. For a fourth DUI conviction, you can expect:

  • Your fine will be at least $2,000 and up to $5,000
  • To spend up to 5 years in prison and or five years of probation
  • Impoundment of all vehicles you own
  • To install a mandatory ignition interlock device in all vehicles you own, use, or routinely operate for a minimum of 2 years
  • To be sentenced to community service
  • To be enrolled in a 21-hour DUI substance abuse course
  • To complete a psychological evaluation and receive substance abuse treatment
  • A lifetime driving ban, as the DHSMV must permanently revoke your license
  • Any and all mandatory DUI penalties to apply to your case

Enhanced Penalties for a Fourth Offense DUI

Additionally, you can expect a judge to impose a minimum $4,000 fine for your fourth DUI offense if:

Your future is at stake when you face charges for a fourth offense DUI. Among the most devastating consequences is the revocation of your driver’s license. Imagine not being able to drive to get to and from work, visit your family, or even apply to jobs that require you to be able to drive yourself places. The license revocation is a permanent suspension of your legal ability to drive, rendering your license null and void. You need a talented DUI defense lawyer on your case to help you avoid a conviction.

Potential Defenses for a Fourth DUI in Orlando

A defense lawyer who works extensively on DUI cases can take several actions to help you preserve your license and future. Some of these might include, but are not limited to the application of the following defenses:

  1. Illegal Traffic Stop
  2. Improper Field Sobriety Tests
  3. Insufficient Probable Cause
  4. Inadmissible Breath Test Results
  5. Prejudice by cop bc they know you have prior duis

Contact The Lawman for your Orlando DUI Defense Needs

At this critical time, you need an attorney who is up to the challenge of helping you avoid a fourth DUI conviction. This may be possible through the strategies listed above. Additionally, your lawyer might be able to file a motion for postconviction relief. If this goes through, you might be convicted of a third, rather than your fourth, DUI which saves you from considerable hardship.

Attorneys with The Umansky Law Firm have over 100 years of combined experience practicing criminal law to know just what your case needs to stand a chance. They are ready and eager to discuss your case. Call (407) 228-3838 for a free consultation or complete this form.

Recent Criminal
Case Results

Burglary of Dwelling; Petit Theft

Withhold with 6 months probation and impulse control; adjudication withheld

Grand Theft ($300-$5000)

Nolle Prosequi-Case Dropped

CT-Driving Under the Influence Car (M1)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

CT- Driving under the influence car

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

Grand Theft Third Degree

Adjudicated Guilty; One day jail/one day time serve; Restitution fees; Court Cost

Petit Theft < 300

We negotiated an agreement that entailed the State dropping the charge after our client completed a Pre-Trial Diversion Program. The Charge was dropped via a Nolle Prosequi.

Unlawful Speeding

Withhold of Adjudication; No points on license; Paid fine and clerk cost; 8 hour aggressive driver class; 90 days to satisfy fine and class

Shoot/Throw Missile Into Dwell/Struct/Veh; Child Abuse; Criminal Mischief; Battery (Domestic Violence)

No Information Notice - Charges Dropped

Attach Tag/Lic Plate To Unassigned Vehicle (M2)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

DUI with Minor In Car or BAL of .20 or Higher

Pled No Contest, 1 Year Probation, 10 day Car Impound, Community Service

Motion to Modify Probation

Motion Granted in 48 hours

Petit Theft

Adjudication Withheld, 4 Months probation, Costs/Fines, Impulse Control Class

Petit Theft of $100 or MORE (M1)

Nolle Prosequi

Refuse To Submit To DUI Test (M1)

Case Dropped

Battery on Law Enforcement Officer (F3); Disorderly Conduct (M2)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

Battery

Charges Dropped

Scheme to Defraud(F3); Grand Theft(F3)

Motion to Terminate Probation Granted

Unlawful Speed

Dismissed

Failed to Yield at Intersection

Not Guilty

Leave Scene Of A Crash W/Property Damage (M2)

Case Dropped

Motion to Modify and Impose a Withhold of Adjudication

Granted

Attempted Burglary of a Conveyance

Charges dropped

Possession of Cannabis (less than 20 grams)

Charges dropped

VOP for DUI

Reduced to reckless driving

Possession of Alcohol Under the Age of 21

Charges dropped

Driving Under the Influence

Reduced to Reckless Driving

Violation of Probation

Case Dismissed

More Cases

Recent Personal
Injury Settlements

$1,600,000

Sexual Assault Victim

$1,600,000

Car Accident

$290,000

Motorcycle Accident

$200,000

Trip and Fall

$150,000

Car Accident

$110,000

Car Accident

$100,000

Car Accident

$290,000

Car Accident

$120,000

Car Accident

$100,000

Car Accident

$125,000

Car Accident

$125,000

Scooter Accident

$275,000

Car Accident

$100,000

Car Accident

$300,000

Government Liability Case

$100,000

Back Injury

More Settlements