Fish & Wildlife Violations

Hunting and fishing is a way of life for many Floridians. Being home to many densely populated waterways and wooded areas, fishing and hunting enthusiasts in Florida often engage in their favorite pastimes without educating themselves on rules and regulations. Fish and wildlife alike are protected by numerous state laws which makes certain actions against them illegal. The state also has specific licenses for individuals who hunt and fish.

Violating a state-mandated regulation can result in hefty fines and license forfeiture. Depending on the severity of the crime, you may even face incarceration.It is vital that you take all mentions of legal action seriously.

The Florida fish and wildlife violation lawyers at The Umansky Law Firm can help mitigate all of the presented charges. Our team of attorneys have over 100 years of combined experience and understand the passion Floridians have for fishing and hunting. We can craft a suitable defense for your case to help settle the matter on the most favorable terms to you.

Common Fish & Wildlife Violations in Florida

Unlike many unlawful acts, many people violate hunting and fishing regulations without ever being aware. As a result, when these individuals are met with legal action, they are often unaware of what led to the lawsuit. The best way to avoid an accidental violation is to be cognizant of what actions are considered unlawful.

The most common fish and wildlife violations in Florida are:

  • Fishing or hunting without a license or permit
  • Out-of-season fishing or hunting
  • Fishing or hunting on a suspended license
  • Harming or killing protected animals or fish such as gators
  • Fishing or hunting more than the legal limit for a specific species

Individuals caught in violation of multiple regulations can be subjected to numerous fines that can quickly pile and leave one under immense financial stress. The specific penalty for your crime depends solely on the nature of the crime.

Florida Penalties for Fish and Wildlife Violations

Florida penalizes fish and wildlife violations different than many other states. Organized into four different levels that group violations by severity, the penalty structure in Florida is strict and extensive. If you are facing charges for fish or wildlife violations, the terms of your conviction will depend solely on the specifics of your charge.

Level One Violations

Level One violations involve improper or lack of licensing for particular fishing or hunting which is penalized as follows:

  • First Offense: $50 plus the cost of the license or permit
  • Second Offense: $250 plus the cost of the license or permit
  • Third Offense (within 36 months): $250 penalty

Those who fail to pay the penalty or appear in court as required will be charged with a misdemeanor in the second degree.

Level Two Violations

Level Two violations involve Fish and Wildlife Commission enactment violations. The penalties are as follows:

  • Has not committed a Level Two or above violation in the last three years: Second-degree misdemeanor punishable by up to 60 days in jail and $500 in fines
  • Has committed a Level Two or above violation in the last three years: First-degree misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in jail and $1000 in fines

Level Three Violations

Level Three violations involve prohibited transfer, sale, and possession of wildlife. The penalties are as follows:

  • Has not committed a Level Three violation or above in the past ten years: First-degree misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in jail and $1000 in fines
  • Has committed a Level Three violation or above in the past ten years: First-degree felony punishments in addition to $750 fine and recreational license suspension for three years

Level Four Violations

Level Four violations are the most severe Florida Fishery and Wildlife violations. This crime is a:

  • Third-degree felony punishable by up to five years in prison and $5,000 in fines

Florida Fish & Wildlife Violations Lawyer

You should not lose your ability to partake in your favorite pastime due to a lapse in judgement. The Florida fish and wildlife violations lawyers at The Umansky Law Firm are here to protect you from the potentially damaging consequences to your actions. Contact us today at 407-228-3838 for a free case evaluation.

Recent Criminal
Case Results

Burglary of Dwelling; Petit Theft

Withhold with 6 months probation and impulse control; adjudication withheld

Grand Theft ($300-$5000)

Nolle Prosequi-Case Dropped

CT-Driving Under the Influence Car (M1)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

CT- Driving under the influence car

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

Grand Theft Third Degree

Adjudicated Guilty; One day jail/one day time serve; Restitution fees; Court Cost

Petit Theft < 300

We negotiated an agreement that entailed the State dropping the charge after our client completed a Pre-Trial Diversion Program. The Charge was dropped via a Nolle Prosequi.

Unlawful Speeding

Withhold of Adjudication; No points on license; Paid fine and clerk cost; 8 hour aggressive driver class; 90 days to satisfy fine and class

Shoot/Throw Missile Into Dwell/Struct/Veh; Child Abuse; Criminal Mischief; Battery (Domestic Violence)

No Information Notice - Charges Dropped

Attach Tag/Lic Plate To Unassigned Vehicle (M2)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

DUI with Minor In Car or BAL of .20 or Higher

Pled No Contest, 1 Year Probation, 10 day Car Impound, Community Service

Motion to Modify Probation

Motion Granted in 48 hours

Petit Theft

Adjudication Withheld, 4 Months probation, Costs/Fines, Impulse Control Class

Petit Theft of $100 or MORE (M1)

Nolle Prosequi

Refuse To Submit To DUI Test (M1)

Case Dropped

Battery on Law Enforcement Officer (F3); Disorderly Conduct (M2)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

Battery

Charges Dropped

Scheme to Defraud(F3); Grand Theft(F3)

Motion to Terminate Probation Granted

Unlawful Speed

Dismissed

Failed to Yield at Intersection

Not Guilty

Leave Scene Of A Crash W/Property Damage (M2)

Case Dropped

Motion to Modify and Impose a Withhold of Adjudication

Granted

Attempted Burglary of a Conveyance

Charges dropped

Possession of Cannabis (less than 20 grams)

Charges dropped

VOP for DUI

Reduced to reckless driving

Possession of Alcohol Under the Age of 21

Charges dropped

Driving Under the Influence

Reduced to Reckless Driving

Violation of Probation

Case Dismissed

More Cases

Recent Personal
Injury Settlements

$1,600,000

Sexual Assault Victim

$1,600,000

Car Accident

$290,000

Motorcycle Accident

$200,000

Trip and Fall

$150,000

Car Accident

$110,000

Car Accident

$100,000

Car Accident

$290,000

Car Accident

$120,000

Car Accident

$100,000

Car Accident

$125,000

Car Accident

$125,000

Scooter Accident

$275,000

Car Accident

$100,000

Car Accident

$300,000

Government Liability Case

$100,000

Back Injury

More Settlements