Orlando BUI Defense Attorneys

DUI Attorney Orlando

Were you out, enjoying yourself on a boat? Were you drinking while boating? If you are caught operating a boat under the influence of drugs or alcohol, you can be charged with boating under the influence (BUI) in Florida. If you were pulled over by an officer for suspicion of BUI and formally charged, it is time to seek immediate help from an Orlando dui lawyer.

Drinking And Boating Laws in Florida

Lakes and channels in central Florida are very popular boating destinations for both residents and tourists. Especially during the spring and summer holidays, boaters are out in full force. In Orlando and Central Florida, many boaters enjoy the Conway and Butler Chain of Lakes, east on the St. John’s River as well as The Intracoastal Waterway (ICW). If you have been cited for BUI on any body of water, we can help. Our Orlando BUI attorneys can provide you with a free case review in office or over the phone so you can have your case evaluated by a member of our skilled legal team. We can determine the best way in which to approach your defense and use our strategic planning tool to begin structuring your case.

The Challenge Of A BUI Charge

In Florida, you can be convicted of a BUI if your blood alcohol is found to be above the legal limit of .08. If you have been charged with a BUI, it is critical that you seek experienced criminal defense representation.

  • There are serious criminal penalties if convicted, especially if you were involved in an accident that caused serious bodily harm, injury or even death of another person.
  • What makes Florida BUI charges especially difficult compared to a DUI charge is that an officer can board a person’s boat without any reasonable suspicion (in contrast to a DUI in which the officer must have reasonable suspicion to pull a motor vehicle over).
  • Even if you have not had very much to drink or nothing to drink at all, dehydration, fatigue, and other conditions after boating all day can make you appear to be under the influence.
  • With so much at stake, it is important that you make sure your attorney is knowledgeable and skilled with BUI defense cases.

Penalties for Boating Under the Influence in Florida

The penalties for BUI charges increase depending on whether or not you are a first-time offender, whether there was a minor in the boat, and what your blood alcohol level (BAL) was.

Penalties for First BUI:

  • Up to $1,000 fine (no less than $500)
  • Up to six months in jail
  • Mandatory probation up to one year
  • Mandatory attendance at an alcohol education/substance abuse class
  • Up to 50 hours of mandatory community service, as well as $10 fine for each hour
  • Boat impounded for 10 days

Penalties for First BUI with a minor in the boat or BAL of .15 or higher:

  • Up to $4,000 fine (no less than $2,000)
  • Up to one year in jail
  • Mandatory probation up to one year
  • Mandatory attendance at an alcohol education/substance abuse class
  • Up to 50 hours of mandatory community service, as well as $10 fine for each hour
  • Boat impounded for 10 days

Penalties for Second BUI:

  • Up to $2,000 fine (no less than 1,000)
  • Up to nine months in jail (mandatory minimum of 10 days if the second conviction is within five years of the first)
  • Mandatory probation up to one year
  • Mandatory attendance at an alcohol education/substance abuse class
  • Boat impounded for 30 days

Penalties for Second BUI with a minor in the boat or with BAL of .15 or higher:

  • Up to $2,000 fine (no less than $1,000)
  • Up to one year in jail
  • Mandatory probation up to one year
  • Mandatory attendance at an alcohol education/substance abuse class
  • Boat impounded for 30 days

Penalites for Third (or subsequent) BUI:

  • 3rd degree felony charge if within 10 years of the last conviction
  • Misdemeanor if more than 10 years has passed since the last conviction
  • Up to $5,000 fine (no less than $2,000)
  • Minimum 30 days in jail, up to one year in jail
  • Mandatory probation up to one year
  • Mandatory attendance at an alcohol education/substance abuse class
  • Boat impounded for 90 days

Penalites for Third (or subsequent) BUI with a minor in the boat or with BAL of .15 or higher:

  • 3rd degree felony charge if within 10 years of the last conviction
  • Misdemeanor if more than 10 years has passed since the last conviction
  • No less than $4,000
  • Minimum 30 days in jail, up to one year in jail
  • Mandatory probation up to one year
  • Mandatory attendance at an alcohol education/substance abuse class
  • Boat impounded for 90 days

Get Help from a Trial Tested BUI Defense Lawyer

At The Umansky Law Firm, our DUI lawyers also have extensive experience in BUIs and are former prosecutors with unique insight into the prosecutions strategy. We are available day or night, so please do not hesitate to reach out to us if you have been involved in a boating accident and alcohol may have been involved.

Call us today at 407-228-3838 and we’ll set up an appointment to look over your case.

Recent Criminal
Case Results

Grand Theft ($300-$5000)

Nolle Prosequi-Case Dropped

CT-Driving Under the Influence Car (M1)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

CT- Driving under the influence car

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

Grand Theft Third Degree

Adjudicated Guilty; One day jail/one day time serve; Restitution fees; Court Cost

Petit Theft < 300

We negotiated an agreement that entailed the State dropping the charge after our client completed a Pre-Trial Diversion Program. The Charge was dropped via a Nolle Prosequi.

Unlawful Speeding

Withhold of Adjudication; No points on license; Paid fine and clerk cost; 8 hour aggressive driver class; 90 days to satisfy fine and class

Shoot/Throw Missile Into Dwell/Struct/Veh; Child Abuse; Criminal Mischief; Battery (Domestic Violence)

No Information Notice - Charges Dropped

Attach Tag/Lic Plate To Unassigned Vehicle (M2)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

DUI with Minor In Car or BAL of .20 or Higher

Pled No Contest, 1 Year Probation, 10 day Car Impound, Community Service

Motion to Modify Probation

Motion Granted in 48 hours

Petit Theft

Adjudication Withheld, 4 Months probation, Costs/Fines, Impulse Control Class

Petit Theft of $100 or MORE (M1)

Nolle Prosequi

Refuse To Submit To DUI Test (M1)

Case Dropped

Battery on Law Enforcement Officer (F3); Disorderly Conduct (M2)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

Battery

Charges Dropped

Scheme to Defraud(F3); Grand Theft(F3)

Motion to Terminate Probation Granted

Unlawful Speed

Dismissed

Failed to Yield at Intersection

Not Guilty

Leave Scene Of A Crash W/Property Damage (M2)

Case Dropped

Motion to Modify and Impose a Withhold of Adjudication

Granted

Attempted Burglary of a Conveyance

Charges dropped

Possession of Cannabis (less than 20 grams)

Charges dropped

VOP for DUI

Reduced to reckless driving

Possession of Alcohol Under the Age of 21

Charges dropped

Driving Under the Influence

Reduced to Reckless Driving

Violation of Probation

Case Dismissed

More Cases

Recent Personal
Injury Settlements

$125,000

Scooter Accident

$275,000

Car Accident

$100,000

Car Accident

$300,000

Government Liability Case

$100,000

Back Injury

More Settlements