DUI with BAC Under 0.08

.08 dui drunk driving

Most people know that if you drive with a BAC (blood alcohol level) over the measurable limit of 0.8, chances are you will be arrested for DUI. If your BAC measures under 0.08, does that mean you won’t be arrested and charged? Not necessarily.

Florida has some of the strictest drinking and driving laws in the US, and take any possible violation seriously. There are situations where you may register substantially lower than the standard 0.08 and still find yourself arrested.

Blood alcohol concentrationWhat 0.08 Actually Means

BAC is the measurement of the amount of alcohol circulating in your bloodstream, represented in terms of weight (milligrams) per unit of volume (milliliters). It’s usually shown as a percentage. The number 0.08 is the legal limit of alcohol in all 50 states and the District of Columbia. If your BAC registers at 0.12, you would be 1.5 times over the legal limit. The number is a legal standard, but that doesn’t mean you can drink until you get to that point.

The effects of alcohol consumption vary with the individual as well as the type of drink consumed. A woman of 120 pounds may reach 0.08 after two drinks, but a 200-pound man may reach it after three or more. A “drink” is considered a single beer, a five-ounce glass of wine or a shot of liquor. Different libations may contain varying amounts of liquor in “just one drink.” Some craft wines or beers may have a higher percentage of alcohol than standard “house” offerings.

Once consumed, alcohol travels directly to the brain, where it can immediately affect cognitive abilities. Even though 0.08 is the “legal” limit, impairment can begin within minutes of the first drink no matter what your BAC. Subsequent drinks will increase impairment.

BAC At A Traffic Stop

If a police officer suspects you of drinking under the influence, you may be asked to “blow,” or use a device that measures the amount of alcohol on your breath. You may also be asked to take field sobriety tests to determine your degree of impairment.

The 0.08 BAC is the legal standard for intoxication. But there are two exceptions:

  • If you’re under 21, the level is 0.02
  • If you’re driving a commercial vehicle (CDL), the level is 0.04

Additionally, if you show any noticeable impairment even with a BAC under the legal limit, you can still be charged. For example, if the police suspect you are under the influence of drugs, painkillers, or prescription drugs, you can still be arrested for DUI.  However, proving that impairment in court may be a little more difficult. An experienced DUI attorney will be able to help you through the court case and build a defense against the DUI charge.

Let Umansky Law Firm Help You Fight Back Against DUI

If you are charged with a DUI or questioned during the field sobriety test, please contact our law firm. We have extensive experience representing residents and tourists who have been charged with DUI’s throughout Orlando and the rest of the Central Florida area. Our Orlando DUI lawyers have the experience necessary to provide you with the best representation for your case. Please call us today at 407-228-3838 or complete our online form.

Recent Criminal
Case Results

Burglary of Dwelling; Petit Theft

Withhold with 6 months probation and impulse control; adjudication withheld

Grand Theft ($300-$5000)

Nolle Prosequi-Case Dropped

CT-Driving Under the Influence Car (M1)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

CT- Driving under the influence car

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

Grand Theft Third Degree

Adjudicated Guilty; One day jail/one day time serve; Restitution fees; Court Cost

Petit Theft < 300

We negotiated an agreement that entailed the State dropping the charge after our client completed a Pre-Trial Diversion Program. The Charge was dropped via a Nolle Prosequi.

Unlawful Speeding

Withhold of Adjudication; No points on license; Paid fine and clerk cost; 8 hour aggressive driver class; 90 days to satisfy fine and class

Shoot/Throw Missile Into Dwell/Struct/Veh; Child Abuse; Criminal Mischief; Battery (Domestic Violence)

No Information Notice - Charges Dropped

Attach Tag/Lic Plate To Unassigned Vehicle (M2)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

DUI with Minor In Car or BAL of .20 or Higher

Pled No Contest, 1 Year Probation, 10 day Car Impound, Community Service

Motion to Modify Probation

Motion Granted in 48 hours

Petit Theft

Adjudication Withheld, 4 Months probation, Costs/Fines, Impulse Control Class

Petit Theft of $100 or MORE (M1)

Nolle Prosequi

Refuse To Submit To DUI Test (M1)

Case Dropped

Battery on Law Enforcement Officer (F3); Disorderly Conduct (M2)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

Battery

Charges Dropped

Scheme to Defraud(F3); Grand Theft(F3)

Motion to Terminate Probation Granted

Unlawful Speed

Dismissed

Failed to Yield at Intersection

Not Guilty

Leave Scene Of A Crash W/Property Damage (M2)

Case Dropped

Motion to Modify and Impose a Withhold of Adjudication

Granted

Attempted Burglary of a Conveyance

Charges dropped

Possession of Cannabis (less than 20 grams)

Charges dropped

VOP for DUI

Reduced to reckless driving

Possession of Alcohol Under the Age of 21

Charges dropped

Driving Under the Influence

Reduced to Reckless Driving

Violation of Probation

Case Dismissed

More Cases

Recent Personal
Injury Settlements

$1,600,000

Sexual Assault Victim

$1,600,000

Car Accident

$290,000

Motorcycle Accident

$200,000

Trip and Fall

$150,000

Car Accident

$110,000

Car Accident

$100,000

Car Accident

$290,000

Car Accident

$120,000

Car Accident

$100,000

Car Accident

$125,000

Car Accident

$125,000

Scooter Accident

$275,000

Car Accident

$100,000

Car Accident

$300,000

Government Liability Case

$100,000

Back Injury

More Settlements