Florida Statutory Penalties

Orlando Criminal Defense Attorneys Educating Clients on Statutory Penalties

A statutory penalty is imposed for a statutory violation. It can take the form of a fine, prison sentence, or a combination of the two. Potential penalties for a misdemeanor or felony offense are based on the severity of the criminal charges or frequency of convictions for the specific crime.

At The Umansky Law Firm, we are candid about educating clients on the penalties they face if convicted of a crime. We are also compassionate when minimizing the consequences following an arrest. Florida criminal penalties include:

Misdemeanor offenses — Crimes punishable by less than one year in jail are considered misdemeanors. County court judges handle these cases. They often fall under the following categories:

  • A second-degree misdemeanor is a crime punishable by no more than 60 days in jail, six months of probation and a fine of $500.
  • A first-degree misdemeanor is punishable by no more than one year in jail, one year of probation and a fine of $1,000.

Felony Offenses — Circuit court judges handle these offenses punishable by a possible one-year prison sentence, pursuant to Florida’s criminal punishment code (CPC). Felonies score points based on the severity of the crime. The higher the felony level, the more points will appear on the “score sheet.” More than 44 points subjects the convicted to minimum terms of imprisonment, while less than 44 is up to the judge’s discretion. Felony levels include:

  • A third-degree felony is punishable by up to five years in prison, five years probation, and a fine of $5,000.
  • A second-degree felony results in up to 15 years in prison, 15 years of probation, and a $10,000 fine.
  • A first-degree felony can result in a sentence of up to 30 years in prison, 30 years of probation, and a fine of $10,000.
  • A life felony results is a sentence for life without the possibility of parole or a lifetime of probation, as well as a $15,000 fine.
  • Capital felony is life in prison without parole or death.

Do You Need a Second Chance? Contact Us Day or Night.

To schedule a free initial consultation with an Orlando criminal law attorney at The Umansky Law Firm, contact us through this website or call (407) 890-0336.

Recent Criminal
Case Results

Burglary of Dwelling; Petit Theft

Withhold with 6 months probation and impulse control; adjudication withheld

Grand Theft ($300-$5000)

Nolle Prosequi-Case Dropped

CT-Driving Under the Influence Car (M1)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

CT- Driving under the influence car

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

Grand Theft Third Degree

Adjudicated Guilty; One day jail/one day time serve; Restitution fees; Court Cost

Petit Theft < 300

We negotiated an agreement that entailed the State dropping the charge after our client completed a Pre-Trial Diversion Program. The Charge was dropped via a Nolle Prosequi.

Unlawful Speeding

Withhold of Adjudication; No points on license; Paid fine and clerk cost; 8 hour aggressive driver class; 90 days to satisfy fine and class

Shoot/Throw Missile Into Dwell/Struct/Veh; Child Abuse; Criminal Mischief; Battery (Domestic Violence)

No Information Notice - Charges Dropped

Attach Tag/Lic Plate To Unassigned Vehicle (M2)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

DUI with Minor In Car or BAL of .20 or Higher

Pled No Contest, 1 Year Probation, 10 day Car Impound, Community Service

Motion to Modify Probation

Motion Granted in 48 hours

Petit Theft

Adjudication Withheld, 4 Months probation, Costs/Fines, Impulse Control Class

Petit Theft of $100 or MORE (M1)

Nolle Prosequi

Refuse To Submit To DUI Test (M1)

Case Dropped

Battery on Law Enforcement Officer (F3); Disorderly Conduct (M2)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped


Charges Dropped

Scheme to Defraud(F3); Grand Theft(F3)

Motion to Terminate Probation Granted

Unlawful Speed


Failed to Yield at Intersection

Not Guilty

Leave Scene Of A Crash W/Property Damage (M2)

Case Dropped

Motion to Modify and Impose a Withhold of Adjudication


Attempted Burglary of a Conveyance

Charges dropped

Possession of Cannabis (less than 20 grams)

Charges dropped


Reduced to reckless driving

Possession of Alcohol Under the Age of 21

Charges dropped

Driving Under the Influence

Reduced to Reckless Driving

Violation of Probation

Case Dismissed

More Cases

Recent Personal
Injury Settlements


Sexual Assault Victim


Car Accident


Motorcycle Accident


Trip and Fall


Car Accident


Car Accident


Car Accident


Car Accident


Car Accident


Car Accident


Car Accident


Scooter Accident


Car Accident


Car Accident


Government Liability Case


Back Injury

More Settlements