Orlando Attorney

Misdemeanor And Felony Charges In Florida

In the state of Florida, crimes are classified as either misdemeanor or felony offenses. The maximum incarceration and fine for a crime is based on the crime's severity along with the frequency of the crime committed by that person.

  • Second-degree misdemeanor can be punishable by a maximum incarceration of 60 days in jail and a maximum fine of $500

  • First-degree misdemeanor can be punishable by a maximum incarceration of one year in jail and a $1,000 fine

  • Third-degree felony can be punishable by a maximum incarceration of five years in prison and a maximum fine of $5,000

  • Second-degree felony can be  punishable by a maximum incarceration of 15 years in prison and a $10,000 fine

  • First-degree felony punishable by a maximum incarceration of 30 years in prison and a $10,000 fine

  • Life felony can be punishable by life in prison

  • Capital felony can be  punishable by death

Misdemeanor Charges in Florida

Though misdemeanor offenses are less serious than felonies, punishment can still reach a maximum of one year in jail and a fine totaling $1,000. Committing a misdemeanor still results in an arrest and the requirement of mug shots, fingerprints and posting of a bond. Misdemeanors are also capable of having a permanent place on criminal records. Misdemeanors are put into two classes: first degree misdemeanors and second-degree misdemeanors. Both of these classes are handled by a county court judge. You can search for many criminal lawyers in Orlando, Florida, that handle different kinds of misdemeanors.

Felony Charges in Florida

Felonies are more serious than misdemeanors, punishable first by the possibility of over a year in prison. Where some misdemeanors will deal with theft, DUI, trespassing, and solicitation of prostitution, felonies constitute of aggravated assault/and battery, burglary, child abuse, grand theft, homicide, and many other serious crimes. Because of the serious nature of these crimes, felony cases can only be handled by circuit court judges. Each felony also includes up to the same amount of time on probation as the maximum incarceration. Life and capital felonies do not have a possibility of parole. These are more difficult to defend, and require more experience and time from attorneys that handle felonies.

Recent Criminal
Case Results

Grand Theft ($300-$5000)

Nolle Prosequi-Case Dropped

CT-Driving Under the Influence Car (M1)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

CT- Driving under the influence car

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

Grand Theft Third Degree

Adjudicated Guilty; One day jail/one day time serve; Restitution fees; Court Cost

Petit Theft < 300

We negotiated an agreement that entailed the State dropping the charge after our client completed a Pre-Trial Diversion Program. The Charge was dropped via a Nolle Prosequi.

Unlawful Speeding

Withhold of Adjudication; No points on license; Paid fine and clerk cost; 8 hour aggressive driver class; 90 days to satisfy fine and class

Shoot/Throw Missile Into Dwell/Struct/Veh; Child Abuse; Criminal Mischief; Battery (Domestic Violence)

No Information Notice - Charges Dropped

Attach Tag/Lic Plate To Unassigned Vehicle (M2)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

DUI with Minor In Car or BAL of .20 or Higher

Pled No Contest, 1 Year Probation, 10 day Car Impound, Community Service

Motion to Modify Probation

Motion Granted in 48 hours

Petit Theft

Adjudication Withheld, 4 Months probation, Costs/Fines, Impulse Control Class

Petit Theft of $100 or MORE (M1)

Nolle Prosequi

Refuse To Submit To DUI Test (M1)

Case Dropped

Battery on Law Enforcement Officer (F3); Disorderly Conduct (M2)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped


Charges Dropped

Scheme to Defraud(F3); Grand Theft(F3)

Motion to Terminate Probation Granted

Unlawful Speed


Failed to Yield at Intersection

Not Guilty

Leave Scene Of A Crash W/Property Damage (M2)

Case Dropped

Motion to Modify and Impose a Withhold of Adjudication


Attempted Burglary of a Conveyance

Charges dropped

Possession of Cannabis (less than 20 grams)

Charges dropped


Reduced to reckless driving

Possession of Alcohol Under the Age of 21

Charges dropped

Driving Under the Influence

Reduced to Reckless Driving

Violation of Probation

Case Dismissed

More Cases

Recent Personal
Injury Settlements


Scooter Accident


Car Accident


Car Accident


Government Liability Case


Back Injury

More Settlements