Expunging a Domestic Violence Charge in Florida

What is a Domestic Violence Charge

Domestic violence is a serious offense under the law and can have a devastating impact upon your current and future career.

Domestic Violence is a broad term and includes multiple offenses such as:

  • Assault
  • Aggravated Assault
  • Battery
  • Aggravated battery
  • False Imprisonment
  • Sexual Harassment
  • Rape
  • Murder

Being an alleged offender in a domestic violence case can result in uncomfortable pressure on you and your loved ones. The embarrassment of the charge alone, regardless of guilt or innocence, can stay with you for a long time. If you have the charges dropped, there is a way to expunge your offense, so you can slowly get back to a normal life and start to make a change for yourself.

Florida Domestic Violence Statutes?

According to the Florida Statute, Domestic Violence means:

  1. (1) “Department” means the Florida Department of Law Enforcement.
  2. (2) “Domestic violence” means any assault, aggravated assault, battery, aggravated battery, sexual assault, sexual battery, stalking, aggravated stalking, kidnapping, false imprisonment, or any criminal offense resulting in physical injury or death of one family or household member by another family or household member.
  3. (3) “Family or household member” means spouses, former spouses, persons related by blood or marriage, persons who are presently residing together as if a family or who have resided together in the past as if a family, and persons who are parents of a child in common regardless of whether they have been married. With the exception of persons who have a child in common, the family or household members must be currently residing or have in the past resided together in the same single dwelling unit.

Can I Get My Domestic Violence Charge Expunged

If you are fortunate enough to get your domestic violence battery, assault, etc. charge dropped there is a chance to get your domestic violence charge expunged. It is important to understand that you must have the charge dropped and no other convictions on your record.

The expungement statute in the State of Florida can assist you to get your life back, so you can seek a positive outcome for your future.

Contact an Expungement Attorney Today

If you have been arrested and charged with domestic violence contact an attorney at The Umansky Law Firm immediately. Call 24 hours a day at 407-890-0336 for a free case review.

§ 741.28, Fla. Stat. (2003)

Recent Criminal
Case Results

Grand Theft ($300-$5000)

Nolle Prosequi-Case Dropped

CT-Driving Under the Influence Car (M1)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

CT- Driving under the influence car

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

Grand Theft Third Degree

Adjudicated Guilty; One day jail/one day time serve; Restitution fees; Court Cost

Petit Theft < 300

We negotiated an agreement that entailed the State dropping the charge after our client completed a Pre-Trial Diversion Program. The Charge was dropped via a Nolle Prosequi.

Unlawful Speeding

Withhold of Adjudication; No points on license; Paid fine and clerk cost; 8 hour aggressive driver class; 90 days to satisfy fine and class

Shoot/Throw Missile Into Dwell/Struct/Veh; Child Abuse; Criminal Mischief; Battery (Domestic Violence)

No Information Notice - Charges Dropped

Attach Tag/Lic Plate To Unassigned Vehicle (M2)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

DUI with Minor In Car or BAL of .20 or Higher

Pled No Contest, 1 Year Probation, 10 day Car Impound, Community Service

Motion to Modify Probation

Motion Granted in 48 hours

Petit Theft

Adjudication Withheld, 4 Months probation, Costs/Fines, Impulse Control Class

Petit Theft of $100 or MORE (M1)

Nolle Prosequi

Refuse To Submit To DUI Test (M1)

Case Dropped

Battery on Law Enforcement Officer (F3); Disorderly Conduct (M2)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped


Charges Dropped

Scheme to Defraud(F3); Grand Theft(F3)

Motion to Terminate Probation Granted

Unlawful Speed


Failed to Yield at Intersection

Not Guilty

Leave Scene Of A Crash W/Property Damage (M2)

Case Dropped

Motion to Modify and Impose a Withhold of Adjudication


Attempted Burglary of a Conveyance

Charges dropped

Possession of Cannabis (less than 20 grams)

Charges dropped


Reduced to reckless driving

Possession of Alcohol Under the Age of 21

Charges dropped

Driving Under the Influence

Reduced to Reckless Driving

Violation of Probation

Case Dismissed

More Cases

Recent Personal
Injury Settlements


Scooter Accident


Car Accident


Car Accident


Government Liability Case


Back Injury

More Settlements