Accessory After the Fact in Florida

When someone you know commits a crime, it may feel natural to want to help them. Aiding a person who has committed a crime, however, is considered a serious offense in Florida. Accessory After the Fact is when a person maintains, assists, or aids an unrelated person who committed a felony to avoid detection, arrest, or punishment for their offense.

If you’ve been charged with accessory after the fact in Florida, you probably feel like you have nowhere to turn and that your future is hopeless. That’s not the case. The attorneys at The Umansky Law Firm understand the emotional side of your situation and want to help you navigate the legal process to create a defense that stands up in court.

Who Can Be Charged With Accessory After the Fact?

Accessory after the fact is a unique charge that can only be applied to unrelated individuals who assist felons in escaping penalties for their crimes. Relatives including parents, siblings, or grandparents of the felon can’t be charged with accessory after the fact. In-laws also can’t be charged with accessory after the fact. It’s important to note, however, that aunts, uncles, and cousins can be charged with accessory after the fact, although they are technically related to the individual. However, if the case involves child abuse, any person can be charged with accessory after the fact.

The circumstances surrounding accessory after the fact are often unique and involve an abundance of personal details. The Umansky Law Firm believes it takes time to get to know every case and client personally so their lawyers can create a defense that will win in court.

Penalties for Accessory After the Fact in Florida

In Florida, the penalties for accessory after the fact are directly related to the felony that was committed. For example, if you’re protecting an individual who was charged with robbery, you will be given similar penalties for accessory after the fact. Any person charged with accessory after the fact can be charged with any level of a felony, from third-degree to first-degree. Penalties for felonies in Florida include:

  • Up to $10,000 in fines
  • Up to 30 years incarceration
  • Up to 30 years probation

Whether you’re charged with a first-degree felony or a third-degree felony, you need a trusted and knowledgeable criminal defense attorney on your side. Finding an attorney as soon as possible is important so you can begin building your defense strategy right away.

Building a Viable Defense Strategy for Accessory After the Fact

The defense strategy for an accessory after the fact case is directly associated with the charges involved. A defense strategy for a robbery case will be extremely different from a defense strategy for a domestic violence case. The Umansky Law Firm is experienced in building both pretrial and trial defense strategies. Some of the most reliable defense strategies include:

No duty to report is a unique defense strategy. Just because a person is living with a felon (for example a roommate or partner), they do not have to report that person to law enforcement. When you’re searching for a criminal defense attorney to represent you in your case, it’s imperative to find someone who has a vast knowledge of defense strategies to walk you through the process.

Aggressive Criminal Defense Attorneys In Orlando

Deciding whether to protect someone you know after they committed a crime is a tough decision. If you’ve been charged with accessory after the fact, we can help you recover from this.

In Central Florida, The Umansky Law Firm is a trusted source of legal representation for criminal cases. We believe no one’s life should be defined by a single mistake and will work tirelessly to help you win yours. We are highly rated on Avvo.com by clients and are members of Florida’s Super Lawyers and Florida’s Legal Elite.

Don’t let your life be defined by a single mistake. Contact The Umansky Law Firm or fill out our online contact form today (407)228-3838.