Defenses for Third DUI in Florida

Being arrested for a DUI is a serious offense, but Central Florida residents often ask DUI lawyers what will happen if they’re arrested for a third DUI. Although the outcomes vary case to case, it is possible that you can face:

  • Up to five years in a state penitentiary
  • $2,000 to $5,000 fine
  • Ignition interlock device
  • 90-day vehicle impoundment
  • Minimum 10 years of driver’s license revocation

Defenses for Third DUI in Florida

However, here are ways to defend yourself in these type of cases. In many instances, even when you’re arrested for a third DUI, the state may not have prior certified convictions of your other two DUIs for which you’re arrested on. This is important because if the state can’t prove that you’ve been previously convicted of those other two DUIs, it’s possible that third DUI can be reduced in many cases to a misdemeanor.

In some cases, if the third DUI is outside of 10 years and the state charges it as a felony, a defense lawyer can get in there and battle for you to have that charge reduced to a misdemeanor as third DUIs are usually within 10 years in the state of Florida.

Legal Issues in DUI Cases

There are always issues that can occur in a DUI case. Some of the most common actions that can be brought into question include:

  • The reason for the stop
  • The roadside test
  • The breathalyzer test
  • Your refusal to submit to the breath test
  • Any other issues that may come as a result of your arrest for a third DUI

All hope is not lost when you get arrested for a third DUI in Florida. What is important is that you get an advocate who is willing to fight for you. If you’re afraid that you may face prison time since you pled guilty to your first two DUIs without the benefit of a lawyer, or a public defender who you feel didn’t do their job, you should look into getting a private attorney. Your criminal defense attorney can examine all of those issues and see if he or she can get that DUI, even a third one, possibly reduced to a reckless driving or a misdemeanor.

Don’t assume that you third DUI automatically will result in a conviction. The DUI lawyers with The Umansky Law Firm have handled third DUIs and even fourth and beyond. We are well-aware of the most efficient legal strategies to bring forth to have your charges lessened and better your chances of receiving a favorable judicial ruling. Contact us today at 407-228-3838 for a free case evaluation.

Recent Criminal
Case Results

Grand Theft ($300-$5000)

Nolle Prosequi-Case Dropped

CT-Driving Under the Influence Car (M1)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

CT- Driving under the influence car

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

Grand Theft Third Degree

Adjudicated Guilty; One day jail/one day time serve; Restitution fees; Court Cost

Petit Theft < 300

We negotiated an agreement that entailed the State dropping the charge after our client completed a Pre-Trial Diversion Program. The Charge was dropped via a Nolle Prosequi.

Unlawful Speeding

Withhold of Adjudication; No points on license; Paid fine and clerk cost; 8 hour aggressive driver class; 90 days to satisfy fine and class

Shoot/Throw Missile Into Dwell/Struct/Veh; Child Abuse; Criminal Mischief; Battery (Domestic Violence)

No Information Notice - Charges Dropped

Attach Tag/Lic Plate To Unassigned Vehicle (M2)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

DUI with Minor In Car or BAL of .20 or Higher

Pled No Contest, 1 Year Probation, 10 day Car Impound, Community Service

Motion to Modify Probation

Motion Granted in 48 hours

Petit Theft

Adjudication Withheld, 4 Months probation, Costs/Fines, Impulse Control Class

Petit Theft of $100 or MORE (M1)

Nolle Prosequi

Refuse To Submit To DUI Test (M1)

Case Dropped

Battery on Law Enforcement Officer (F3); Disorderly Conduct (M2)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

Battery

Charges Dropped

Scheme to Defraud(F3); Grand Theft(F3)

Motion to Terminate Probation Granted

Unlawful Speed

Dismissed

Failed to Yield at Intersection

Not Guilty

Leave Scene Of A Crash W/Property Damage (M2)

Case Dropped

Motion to Modify and Impose a Withhold of Adjudication

Granted

Attempted Burglary of a Conveyance

Charges dropped

Possession of Cannabis (less than 20 grams)

Charges dropped

VOP for DUI

Reduced to reckless driving

Possession of Alcohol Under the Age of 21

Charges dropped

Driving Under the Influence

Reduced to Reckless Driving

Violation of Probation

Case Dismissed

More Cases

Recent Personal
Injury Settlements

$125,000

Scooter Accident

$275,000

Car Accident

$100,000

Car Accident

$300,000

Government Liability Case

$100,000

Back Injury

More Settlements