Clermont DUI Lawyer

Driving reckless and distracted are both serious offenses due to the potential harm they can cause in the event of a collision. Topping both of these prohibited practices is drunk driving. Florida lawmakers are aware of the dangers of driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol, which is why strict penalties are in place for DUI convictions. Regardless of their best efforts, drunk driving still occurs regularly, but those charged should know that they do have legal options.

Those accused of a DUI often mistakenly believe that there’s no chance of avoiding a conviction. This is usually a result of law enforcement officials discouraging the arrested individual by suggesting that the amount of incriminating evidence is enough for a conviction. It’s crucial for you to know that by not acquiring legal representation you drastically decrease the chances of having a successful case. An experienced Clermont DUI attorney can point out missteps by the arresting officer, conflicting statements, and other factors that can lead to charges being lessened or even dismissed.

What Happens When You’re Charged with a DUI in Clermont

Being charged and being convicted of a DUI are two completely different instances. While a conviction can lead to jail time or probation, a DUI charge can lead to:

  • Your vehicle getting towed
  • Being held in jail for a minimum of 8 hours
  • Having your license suspended

If your license is valid at the time of the arrest, the courts will allow you to drive legally with your DUI citation for the following ten days. During this period you may request a formal review hearing to challenge the suspension of your license if you wish to get it back. If your license was never suspended for an alcohol-related offense before, you can agree to waive your hearing and obtain a hardship license immediately without risk of a “hard” suspension. This is referred to as the “Ten-Day Rule.”

A temporary license is issued to individuals who request an administrative hearing in the specified ten-day period. This license is valid for seven days after the hearing. Those who do not submit a timely request risk having their license suspended anywhere from six to eighteen months. The actual suspension time is dependant on the specifics of the case.

How a Clermont DUI Attorney can Help

Those charged with a DUI in Clermont who unknowingly allow the ten-day period to pass without taking any action run the risk of losing their license longer than necessary. Don’t let a reckless mistake to have a lasting effect on your freedom of transportation. Trust a Clermont DUI attorney to provide aggressive legal representation throughout the entirety of your case.

William Umansky with The Umansky Law Firm has over two decades of experience practicing law in the Greater Central Florida area. During that time he has gathered a group of skilled attorneys who he is proud to say is better than him. His duty solely lies in assuring that he links them to the right clients to ensure the most favorable outcome. If you are facing a DUI charge in Lake County, contact us today for a free consultation with a Clermont DUI lawyer.

Recent Criminal
Case Results

Burglary of Dwelling; Petit Theft

Withhold with 6 months probation and impulse control; adjudication withheld

Grand Theft ($300-$5000)

Nolle Prosequi-Case Dropped

CT-Driving Under the Influence Car (M1)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

CT- Driving under the influence car

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

Grand Theft Third Degree

Adjudicated Guilty; One day jail/one day time serve; Restitution fees; Court Cost

Petit Theft < 300

We negotiated an agreement that entailed the State dropping the charge after our client completed a Pre-Trial Diversion Program. The Charge was dropped via a Nolle Prosequi.

Unlawful Speeding

Withhold of Adjudication; No points on license; Paid fine and clerk cost; 8 hour aggressive driver class; 90 days to satisfy fine and class

Shoot/Throw Missile Into Dwell/Struct/Veh; Child Abuse; Criminal Mischief; Battery (Domestic Violence)

No Information Notice - Charges Dropped

Attach Tag/Lic Plate To Unassigned Vehicle (M2)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

DUI with Minor In Car or BAL of .20 or Higher

Pled No Contest, 1 Year Probation, 10 day Car Impound, Community Service

Motion to Modify Probation

Motion Granted in 48 hours

Petit Theft

Adjudication Withheld, 4 Months probation, Costs/Fines, Impulse Control Class

Petit Theft of $100 or MORE (M1)

Nolle Prosequi

Refuse To Submit To DUI Test (M1)

Case Dropped

Battery on Law Enforcement Officer (F3); Disorderly Conduct (M2)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

Battery

Charges Dropped

Scheme to Defraud(F3); Grand Theft(F3)

Motion to Terminate Probation Granted

Unlawful Speed

Dismissed

Failed to Yield at Intersection

Not Guilty

Leave Scene Of A Crash W/Property Damage (M2)

Case Dropped

Motion to Modify and Impose a Withhold of Adjudication

Granted

Attempted Burglary of a Conveyance

Charges dropped

Possession of Cannabis (less than 20 grams)

Charges dropped

VOP for DUI

Reduced to reckless driving

Possession of Alcohol Under the Age of 21

Charges dropped

Driving Under the Influence

Reduced to Reckless Driving

Violation of Probation

Case Dismissed

More Cases

Recent Personal
Injury Settlements

$1,600,000

Sexual Assault Victim

$1,600,000

Car Accident

$290,000

Motorcycle Accident

$200,000

Trip and Fall

$150,000

Car Accident

$110,000

Car Accident

$100,000

Car Accident

$290,000

Car Accident

$120,000

Car Accident

$100,000

Car Accident

$125,000

Car Accident

$125,000

Scooter Accident

$275,000

Car Accident

$100,000

Car Accident

$300,000

Government Liability Case

$100,000

Back Injury

More Settlements