Apopka DUI Lawyers

Driving under the influence of alcohol and/ or drugs is not only dangerous, it could lead to legal consequences if you get caught whether or not you caused an accident. Those who have a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% or higher are legally too drunk to drive and can face penalties upon a conviction. If you have been arrested for DUI in Apopka, you should have an attorney on your side to protect your rights.

Drunk driving leads to tens of thousands of accidents annually. Nationally, about a third of all traffic deaths are caused by drunk driving. The state of Florida encourages law enforcement officers to pursue DUI suspects to reduce the number of intoxicated drivers on the roads. If you face charges for a DUI, you need someone looking out for your interests. The Apopka DUI attorneys at The Umansky Law Firm have over 60 years of combined criminal law experience and have handled thousands of DUIs. They will put this experience to work when developing a strong defense for your case.

How Can Police Prove I’m Intoxicated Behind the Wheel?

The Apopka Police Department relies on portable and stationary technology to measure a suspect’s level of intoxication. At the traffic stop, the law enforcement officer may rely on a series of roadside evaluations to help him decide whether your behaviors are suspicious enough to justify using a portable breath test. If you fail these sobriety tests, you will be subjected to a portable BAC test.

In Florida, a person can be charged with a DUI if his or her breath meets or exceeds the following limits:

  • 0.08% for anyone 21 and older
  • 0.04% for drivers of commercial vehicles who are 21 and older
  • 0.02% for drivers under 21

The results of the portable breath test are not permissible in court as evidence; however, if you fail you will be taken to the police station to undergo a more thorough evaluation on a stationary machine called the Intoxilyzer 8000. If the results of this test indicate intoxication, they may be used as evidence for an Apopka DUI.

Penalties for an Apopka DUI

The state of Florida takes drunk driving charges very seriously. Prosecutors can seek the maximum penalties for a first-time DUI to keep suspects off the roads. Many DUIs result in misdemeanor charges unless the violation resulted in serious bodily injury to another person. If your DUI caused a death, you might be facing a DUI manslaughter charge.The penalties for any of these charges are harsh and can potentially rob you of your future as you may be required to spend time in jail, pay steep fines, perform community service, attend DUI school, and more in addition to losing your driver’s license.

A well-rounded DUI lawyer in Apopka is equipped to handle the administrative and legal obstacles a DUI can bring. There are many defenses our DUI lawyers can employ to counter the charges against you. In many cases, it is possible to challenge the results of the breath tests as well as the justification for the traffic stop. You will need to thoroughly describe the events that lead to your charges to an attorney in order to learn all your options for defense.

At The Umansky Law Firm, we understand that people make mistakes and firmly believe that everyone deserves a second chance. Founder William Umansky has defended thousands of DUI cases throughout his 25-year career as a DUI attorney serving Apopka and Central Florida. As a former prosecutor for the City of Orlando, he has unique insight into how the prosecution may handle your case that will work toward creating a stronger defense. Call 407-228-3838 or contact us online to speak with an attorney for free about your DUI.

Recent Criminal
Case Results

Burglary of Dwelling; Petit Theft

Withhold with 6 months probation and impulse control; adjudication withheld

Grand Theft ($300-$5000)

Nolle Prosequi-Case Dropped

CT-Driving Under the Influence Car (M1)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

CT- Driving under the influence car

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

Grand Theft Third Degree

Adjudicated Guilty; One day jail/one day time serve; Restitution fees; Court Cost

Petit Theft < 300

We negotiated an agreement that entailed the State dropping the charge after our client completed a Pre-Trial Diversion Program. The Charge was dropped via a Nolle Prosequi.

Unlawful Speeding

Withhold of Adjudication; No points on license; Paid fine and clerk cost; 8 hour aggressive driver class; 90 days to satisfy fine and class

Shoot/Throw Missile Into Dwell/Struct/Veh; Child Abuse; Criminal Mischief; Battery (Domestic Violence)

No Information Notice - Charges Dropped

Attach Tag/Lic Plate To Unassigned Vehicle (M2)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

DUI with Minor In Car or BAL of .20 or Higher

Pled No Contest, 1 Year Probation, 10 day Car Impound, Community Service

Motion to Modify Probation

Motion Granted in 48 hours

Petit Theft

Adjudication Withheld, 4 Months probation, Costs/Fines, Impulse Control Class

Petit Theft of $100 or MORE (M1)

Nolle Prosequi

Refuse To Submit To DUI Test (M1)

Case Dropped

Battery on Law Enforcement Officer (F3); Disorderly Conduct (M2)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped


Charges Dropped

Scheme to Defraud(F3); Grand Theft(F3)

Motion to Terminate Probation Granted

Unlawful Speed


Failed to Yield at Intersection

Not Guilty

Leave Scene Of A Crash W/Property Damage (M2)

Case Dropped

Motion to Modify and Impose a Withhold of Adjudication


Attempted Burglary of a Conveyance

Charges dropped

Possession of Cannabis (less than 20 grams)

Charges dropped


Reduced to reckless driving

Possession of Alcohol Under the Age of 21

Charges dropped

Driving Under the Influence

Reduced to Reckless Driving

Violation of Probation

Case Dismissed

More Cases

Recent Personal
Injury Settlements


Sexual Assault Victim


Car Accident


Motorcycle Accident


Trip and Fall


Car Accident


Car Accident


Car Accident


Car Accident


Car Accident


Car Accident


Car Accident


Scooter Accident


Car Accident


Car Accident


Government Liability Case


Back Injury

More Settlements