4 Facts to Know about Rental Car Crashes in Florida

4 Facts to Know about Rental Car Crashes in FloridaIncreased traffic patterns due to heavy tourism have led to many accidents on Florida roads. It is common for visitors to lease vehicles from rental agencies when driving long distances on vacation in the Sunshine State. Unfortunately, many rental car crashes occur as a result of people being less familiar with Florida roadways. If you have been involved in a rental car crash in Florida, you should contact an experienced car accident attorney to discuss your legal options. 

Four Useful Facts to Remember after a Rental Car Crash

The aftermath of a rental car accident can be confusing and even frightening, but there are useful facts that you should remember in case you ever find yourself in such a scenario. The following are four useful facts to remember after a rental car crash:

You Should Stay with Your Vehicle

The first fact to remember is that you should stay with your car, whether it be your own car or a rental. Remember that rental vehicles will be tied to the name and driver’s license of whoever signed the lease.

You Should Exchange Information

All drivers involved in any collision should exchange contact and insurance information. This is true whether they own or rent the vehicle they drive. Drivers should share information with both other involved drivers and the police. 

You Should Gather Evidence

It is also a good idea to take plenty of detailed photos and ask for the contact information of any witnesses to the accident. This can provide excellent evidence in the event you need to later file a lawsuit.

You Should Check the Glove Compartment of the Rental Car

Another useful fact to keep in mind is that many rental vehicles have insurance documentation in their glove compartments. Take the time to check the glove box before you pull away from the rental agency. If another driver involved in the crash is driving a rental vehicle, you should obtain the rental agency’s information in addition to the individual driver’s information.

What Are Florida’s PIP Insurance Requirements?

Florida residents are required to carry personal injury protection (PIP) in the amount of $10,000. Those who rent vehicles in the state of Florida must additionally carry insurance coverage on rental cars. Please note that individual PIP coverage generally takes precedence when both types of insurance apply.

Those who are either non-residents of Florida or do not own vehicles may not carry PIP insurance. If this applies to you, be sure to discuss various insurance options with your rental agency before heading to Florida. Certain limitations may apply depending upon how long you plan to rent the vehicle, where exactly you will be traveling, and the specific plan you purchase. Florida is a no-fault state. This means that PIP covers an accident, no matter who caused the collision, up to the amount of $10,000.

Contact the Attorneys at The Umansky Law Firm to Discuss Your Rental Car Crash

The attorneys at The Umansky Law Firm are experienced in helping clients obtain the financial compensation they deserve after rental car crashes. We can help guide you whether an out-of-state tourist caused the collision, a Florida resident was behind the rental car wheel, or you were driving a rental car when another person’s negligence caused a collision.

The Umansky Law Firm can assist with your claims after a rental car accident. If filing a lawsuit in civil court becomes necessary, we will prepare the strongest case possible. To arrange a free consultation, you can call us at (407) 228-3838 or contact us online.