Lewd and Lascivious Conduct can generally be defined as the touching of a person under the age of 16. Section 800.04 of the Florida Statutes deals with a number of lewd and lascivious acts, with special considerations given regarding the ages of the accused and the accuser.

At The Umansky Law Firm, in Orlando, Florida, our defense lawyers represent clients throughout central Florida in lewd and lascivious conduct and other sex crimes. As former prosecutors, we have full knowledge of how the prosecution will build the case against you, and know how put together a defense that can help mitigate some of the detrimental consequences of a sex crime conviction. Get us on your side as soon as possible to begin fighting the charges.

Florida Lewd and Lascivious Conduct Penalties

If you are convicted of lewd and lascivious conduct, the penalties you face will depend upon your age and other facts of the case. The following sections of the Florida Statutes provides details on the possible punishments:

  • Lewd and lascivious battery: Anyone who engages in sexual acts with a person between the ages of 12 and 16, or encourages such person to engage in various "perversions." This crime is punishable under Florida law as a second degree felony.
  • Lewd or lascivious molestation: any act that involves touching the breasts, genitals or buttocks of a child, or forces the child to so touch the defendant. A person 18 or over who commits such an act on a child under 12 commits a life felony. A person under 18 who commits such an act on a child less than 12, or an adult who commits such an act on a child from 12 -16 commits a second degree felony.
  • Lewd and lascivious conduct: entails touching a person under 16 in a lewd manner, or soliciting a child under 16 to commit a lewd act. A person over 18 who commits such an act is looking at a second degree felony. A person under 18 commits a third degree felony.
  • Lewd or lascivious exhibition: The elements of this crime are intentional masturbation, or intentionally exposing the genitals in a lewd manner, or any other sexual act or suggestion not involving contact to a person under 16. An adult committing such an act can be punished for a second degree felony. Florida Statue 800.03 makes it a first degree misdemeanor to intentionally expose your genitals in public or to another in a vulgar manner.

Anyone can be accused of lewd and lascivious behavior, including teachers, family members, coaches and neighbors. Our defense attorneys understand the role that false accusations can play in these cases. We can analyze and identify if the accuser was motivated to make false allegations or even determine if the accuser was pressured into making the accusation. As your defense attorneys, we strive to get to the root cause of the allegations, break down the prosecution's case and protect your rights and future.

Contact a Lewd Conduct Defense Attorney in Orlando

Our lawyers represent adults and minors in Orlando and the surrounding areas charged with sex crime offenses. If you or someone you care about has been charged with lewd and lascivious conduct, do not hesitate to talk to our attorneys. To schedule a free consultation, call us at (407) 228-3838. You can also contact us online.

Recent Criminal
Case Results

Grand Theft ($300-$5000)

Nolle Prosequi-Case Dropped

CT-Driving Under the Influence Car (M1)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

CT- Driving under the influence car

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

Grand Theft Third Degree

Adjudicated Guilty; One day jail/one day time serve; Restitution fees; Court Cost

Petit Theft < 300

We negotiated an agreement that entailed the State dropping the charge after our client completed a Pre-Trial Diversion Program. The Charge was dropped via a Nolle Prosequi.

Unlawful Speeding

Withhold of Adjudication; No points on license; Paid fine and clerk cost; 8 hour aggressive driver class; 90 days to satisfy fine and class

Shoot/Throw Missile Into Dwell/Struct/Veh; Child Abuse; Criminal Mischief; Battery (Domestic Violence)

No Information Notice - Charges Dropped

Attach Tag/Lic Plate To Unassigned Vehicle (M2)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

DUI with Minor In Car or BAL of .20 or Higher

Pled No Contest, 1 Year Probation, 10 day Car Impound, Community Service

Motion to Modify Probation

Motion Granted in 48 hours

Petit Theft

Adjudication Withheld, 4 Months probation, Costs/Fines, Impulse Control Class

Petit Theft of $100 or MORE (M1)

Nolle Prosequi

Refuse To Submit To DUI Test (M1)

Case Dropped

Battery on Law Enforcement Officer (F3); Disorderly Conduct (M2)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

Battery

Charges Dropped

Scheme to Defraud(F3); Grand Theft(F3)

Motion to Terminate Probation Granted

Unlawful Speed

Dismissed

Failed to Yield at Intersection

Not Guilty

Leave Scene Of A Crash W/Property Damage (M2)

Case Dropped

Motion to Modify and Impose a Withhold of Adjudication

Granted

Attempted Burglary of a Conveyance

Charges dropped

Possession of Cannabis (less than 20 grams)

Charges dropped

VOP for DUI

Reduced to reckless driving

Possession of Alcohol Under the Age of 21

Charges dropped

Driving Under the Influence

Reduced to Reckless Driving

Violation of Probation

Case Dismissed

More Cases

Recent Personal
Injury Settlements

$125,000

Scooter Accident

$275,000

Car Accident

$100,000

Car Accident

$300,000

Government Liability Case

$100,000

Back Injury

More Settlements