This article was first published January 18th, 2011. Some of the laws may have changed since this that date.

A truck driver in Polk County killed two women when he was texting on the road, ran a red light and hit eight cars. One was the daughter of Russell Hurd, who was riding with her fiancé on the way to plan their wedding at Walt Disney World, where the couple worked.

Hurd's daughter was 26 years old. Since the truck accident in January 2008, Hurd has issued a call to legislators across the country to pass laws prohibiting drivers from talking or texting.

Texting While Driving Bills in Florida

More than a dozen vehicle safety bills regarding talking and texting while driving came under consideration in the 2010 session in Florida. All died in committees this year. Among the stated concerns was striking a balance between banning dangerous activity and personal responsibility of drivers. Some feel drivers should be given the personal freedom and ability to remain individually responsible for making safe decisions behind the wheel.

Additionally, legislators wonder where to draw the line among distracting activities, which may include scrolling through a playlist on an mp3 player, setting a GPS destination, reading an e-mail on a phone, eating or other activities. There are also questions over the enforceability of a texting ban, if drivers hold their cellular phones lower, out of sight, which can potentially increase the time the drivers have their eyes off the road.

Distracted Driving Laws in Other States

The Hurds have, however, helped to get legislation passed in Maryland, which is among the 30 states in the country to ban texting while driving. Eight states and Washington, D.C. have banned the use of handheld cell phones while driving.

While no state bans all use of cellular phones (including hands-free devices), many prohibit all use by certain drivers, such as novice drivers and bus drivers. Some laws are primary, meaning that the driver could be pulled over and ticketed only for the phone offense; other states require the driver to be pulled over for another moving violation in order to receive a phone ticket.

Similar to Florida, measures failed in Alabama because legislators could not agree on how to enforce the law.

Call for Federal Legislation

Hurd has shared his story with U.S. Transportation Secretary Ray LaHood at a Washington summit on distracted driving. Unfortunately, Hurd's story is not unique; according to statistics compiled by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, in 2008:

  • 20 percent of all car accidents were the result of drivers paying attention to something other than driving
  • 6,000 people were killed in crashes caused by distracted motorists
  • Drivers who eat, text or groom themselves while driving are four times more likely to crash than those who concentrate solely on the road

The U.S. Department of Transportation contends that distracting activities are not limited to cellular phone use but also include:

  • Reading maps or other materials
  • Talking to passengers
  • Eating or drinking
  • Applying makeup or shaving
  • Activities that cause drivers to take their eyes off the road, hands off the steering wheel or concentration off of driving

U.S. News says after hearing from families of victims of fatal texting accidents, LaHood issued anti-texting rules for commercial truck and bus drivers. He also established FocusDriven, a new group organized to make distracted driving part of driver's education classes. His ultimate goal is to have no distractions at all in cars, even if it means developing a device that shuts down phones and digital devices when the engine is started. He urges police to enforce bans against hand-held cellphone use and is seeking a federal ban against texting while driving.

The trucker who killed Hurd's daughter was not speeding or driving under the influence. Yet he never even applied his brakes because he was not paying attention to the road, noted a Florida Highway Patrol.

Anyone who has been injured by a distracted driver should contact a skilled personal injury lawyer to discuss whether they have a claim for compensation. An experienced attorney can explain how to gather and preserve crash and medical evidence and sue for damages if a claim exists.

Recent Criminal
Case Results

Grand Theft ($300-$5000)

Nolle Prosequi-Case Dropped

CT-Driving Under the Influence Car (M1)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

CT- Driving under the influence car

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

Grand Theft Third Degree

Adjudicated Guilty; One day jail/one day time serve; Restitution fees; Court Cost

Petit Theft < 300

We negotiated an agreement that entailed the State dropping the charge after our client completed a Pre-Trial Diversion Program. The Charge was dropped via a Nolle Prosequi.

Unlawful Speeding

Withhold of Adjudication; No points on license; Paid fine and clerk cost; 8 hour aggressive driver class; 90 days to satisfy fine and class

Shoot/Throw Missile Into Dwell/Struct/Veh; Child Abuse; Criminal Mischief; Battery (Domestic Violence)

No Information Notice - Charges Dropped

Attach Tag/Lic Plate To Unassigned Vehicle (M2)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

DUI with Minor In Car or BAL of .20 or Higher

Pled No Contest, 1 Year Probation, 10 day Car Impound, Community Service

Motion to Modify Probation

Motion Granted in 48 hours

Petit Theft

Adjudication Withheld, 4 Months probation, Costs/Fines, Impulse Control Class

Petit Theft of $100 or MORE (M1)

Nolle Prosequi

Refuse To Submit To DUI Test (M1)

Case Dropped

Battery on Law Enforcement Officer (F3); Disorderly Conduct (M2)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

Battery

Charges Dropped

Scheme to Defraud(F3); Grand Theft(F3)

Motion to Terminate Probation Granted

Unlawful Speed

Dismissed

Failed to Yield at Intersection

Not Guilty

Leave Scene Of A Crash W/Property Damage (M2)

Case Dropped

Motion to Modify and Impose a Withhold of Adjudication

Granted

Attempted Burglary of a Conveyance

Charges dropped

Possession of Cannabis (less than 20 grams)

Charges dropped

VOP for DUI

Reduced to reckless driving

Possession of Alcohol Under the Age of 21

Charges dropped

Driving Under the Influence

Reduced to Reckless Driving

Violation of Probation

Case Dismissed

More Cases

Recent Personal
Injury Settlements

$125,000

Scooter Accident

$275,000

Car Accident

$100,000

Car Accident

$300,000

Government Liability Case

$100,000

Back Injury

More Settlements