Individuals involved in an injury that involved another party's negligence often wonder whether or not they have to have a doctor in order to prove there was a personal injury case. That's an interesting question and a very good one. In the State of Florida, if you're involved in an automobile accident, in order to recover from pain and suffering, and future pain and suffering, you have to show that there is a permanent injury. The only one that can sign off on a permanent injury is a medical doctor, or in some cases, a chiropractor.

Florida is one of those states that allows people to recover all of their out of pocket medical expenses as a result of the accident, including their medical bills and the damage done to their vehicle. However, if you want to seek recovery for pain and suffering, or future pain and suffering, it has to be shown that you sustained a permanent injury. A doctor will be the one to ultimately determine whether or not you sustained a permanent injury. So, in regards to the question of whether you need a doctor to prove your personal injury case, the question really is what are you trying to recover for? If the answer is that you're just trying to get your out-of-pocket and medical bills paid, then technically, no. But if you want to be compensated at all for pain suffering, or future pain suffering, or past pain suffering, then yes, you do need a medical doctor, or a chiropractor.

If you're not sure where you fall under these categories, please call one of our personal injury attorneys at The Umansky Law Firm and discuss your situation with them.

Recent Criminal
Case Results

Grand Theft ($300-$5000)

Nolle Prosequi-Case Dropped

CT-Driving Under the Influence Car (M1)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

CT- Driving under the influence car

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

Grand Theft Third Degree

Adjudicated Guilty; One day jail/one day time serve; Restitution fees; Court Cost

Petit Theft < 300

We negotiated an agreement that entailed the State dropping the charge after our client completed a Pre-Trial Diversion Program. The Charge was dropped via a Nolle Prosequi.

Unlawful Speeding

Withhold of Adjudication; No points on license; Paid fine and clerk cost; 8 hour aggressive driver class; 90 days to satisfy fine and class

Shoot/Throw Missile Into Dwell/Struct/Veh; Child Abuse; Criminal Mischief; Battery (Domestic Violence)

No Information Notice - Charges Dropped

Attach Tag/Lic Plate To Unassigned Vehicle (M2)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

DUI with Minor In Car or BAL of .20 or Higher

Pled No Contest, 1 Year Probation, 10 day Car Impound, Community Service

Motion to Modify Probation

Motion Granted in 48 hours

Petit Theft

Adjudication Withheld, 4 Months probation, Costs/Fines, Impulse Control Class

Petit Theft of $100 or MORE (M1)

Nolle Prosequi

Refuse To Submit To DUI Test (M1)

Case Dropped

Battery on Law Enforcement Officer (F3); Disorderly Conduct (M2)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

Battery

Charges Dropped

Scheme to Defraud(F3); Grand Theft(F3)

Motion to Terminate Probation Granted

Unlawful Speed

Dismissed

Failed to Yield at Intersection

Not Guilty

Leave Scene Of A Crash W/Property Damage (M2)

Case Dropped

Motion to Modify and Impose a Withhold of Adjudication

Granted

Attempted Burglary of a Conveyance

Charges dropped

Possession of Cannabis (less than 20 grams)

Charges dropped

VOP for DUI

Reduced to reckless driving

Possession of Alcohol Under the Age of 21

Charges dropped

Driving Under the Influence

Reduced to Reckless Driving

Violation of Probation

Case Dismissed

More Cases

Recent Personal
Injury Settlements

$125,000

Scooter Accident

$275,000

Car Accident

$100,000

Car Accident

$300,000

Government Liability Case

$100,000

Back Injury

More Settlements