DUI Attorney Orlando

How To Remove a DUI From Your Record in Florida

Well, you retain an expungement attorney to do the initial paperwork. And what they'll do is they'll take the original disposition that's certified by the clerk of court and they will send it over to the State Attorney for their approval. The State Attorney will sign off on that application indicating that the charge was dropped. Once they sign off on that application, then the lawyer will send that application up to FDLE with a $75 processing fee. Once you get your $75 fee in, and a fingerprint card, along with the certified disposition up to the FDLE, which is the Florida Department of Law Enforcement, they should issue you a certificate of eligibility.

  • They will send it back to the lawyer, the lawyer will then prepare a petition, and an affidavit that you'll have to swear, under oath, that you have no prior convictions. Obviously you must tell the truth. If you don't, it will subject you to perjury.
  • Once we get the petition prepared, and the attorney looks over all the documents, they will file it with the court. The court will usually wait for the state of Florida's response, and the state of Florida can respond by no objection, agreeing to it, or in some rare occasions, objecting to the petition.
  • Many times, it can be done without a hearing. But if there is a hearing, the lawyer will attend on your behalf. Sometimes you will attend, and try to convince the judge why he should get rid of your record. The DUI record expungement process isn't difficult, but it must be done properly.

So Why Get Your DUI Record Expunged or Sealed?

When someone gets a driving under the influence charge, it can impact their life greatly, even if it is the only mark on an otherwise perfect record. A driving under the influence charge can impact a person's ability to gain employment in certain fields, and can even impact their ability to buy a home. This does not include the impact on the person personally.

  • Society has a tendency to view anyone with a DUI as irresponsible, and often times someone with a drinking problem. It can impact a person's life greatly, both emotionally and legally. In any case where someone can have their record sealed, or even expunged, it is highly recommended in order to save them grief in the future.
  • If someone is facing a DUI charge in the state of Florida, whether in a highly populated area such as Orlando or Miami, or a more rural one, it is highly recommended that they seek an expungement lawyer that is well versed in the law regarding sealing records and expungements. The laws change regarding these processes, and it is always a good idea to have a professional that deals with the judicial system in their corner.
  • The right attorney can help someone fight the charge, possibly getting it dropped, and then expunged from their record. Having a record sealed is essentially having it removed from public view. It still exists, but it is no longer public information, so it won't come between you and your future goals.
  • Having a driving under the influence charge expunged from one's personal record saves them from having to explain to any potential employer (or anyone) the circumstances of the incident. Once the matter is dismissed, or the charges are dropped, and the record expunged, the person is free to move forward and not have this incident affect their future.

Contact The Umansky Law Firm

If you have been arrested for a DUI please contact one of our Orlando DUI attorneys immediately for a free case review. We are available 24 hours a day at 407-228-3838.

Recent Criminal
Case Results

Grand Theft ($300-$5000)

Nolle Prosequi-Case Dropped

CT-Driving Under the Influence Car (M1)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

CT- Driving under the influence car

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

Grand Theft Third Degree

Adjudicated Guilty; One day jail/one day time serve; Restitution fees; Court Cost

Petit Theft < 300

We negotiated an agreement that entailed the State dropping the charge after our client completed a Pre-Trial Diversion Program. The Charge was dropped via a Nolle Prosequi.

Unlawful Speeding

Withhold of Adjudication; No points on license; Paid fine and clerk cost; 8 hour aggressive driver class; 90 days to satisfy fine and class

Shoot/Throw Missile Into Dwell/Struct/Veh; Child Abuse; Criminal Mischief; Battery (Domestic Violence)

No Information Notice - Charges Dropped

Attach Tag/Lic Plate To Unassigned Vehicle (M2)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

DUI with Minor In Car or BAL of .20 or Higher

Pled No Contest, 1 Year Probation, 10 day Car Impound, Community Service

Motion to Modify Probation

Motion Granted in 48 hours

Petit Theft

Adjudication Withheld, 4 Months probation, Costs/Fines, Impulse Control Class

Petit Theft of $100 or MORE (M1)

Nolle Prosequi

Refuse To Submit To DUI Test (M1)

Case Dropped

Battery on Law Enforcement Officer (F3); Disorderly Conduct (M2)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

Battery

Charges Dropped

Scheme to Defraud(F3); Grand Theft(F3)

Motion to Terminate Probation Granted

Unlawful Speed

Dismissed

Failed to Yield at Intersection

Not Guilty

Leave Scene Of A Crash W/Property Damage (M2)

Case Dropped

Motion to Modify and Impose a Withhold of Adjudication

Granted

Attempted Burglary of a Conveyance

Charges dropped

Possession of Cannabis (less than 20 grams)

Charges dropped

VOP for DUI

Reduced to reckless driving

Possession of Alcohol Under the Age of 21

Charges dropped

Driving Under the Influence

Reduced to Reckless Driving

Violation of Probation

Case Dismissed

More Cases

Recent Personal
Injury Settlements

$125,000

Scooter Accident

$275,000

Car Accident

$100,000

Car Accident

$300,000

Government Liability Case

$100,000

Back Injury

More Settlements