Orlando Attorney

Charged with carrying a concealed weapon? Did you have a gun or other weapon on you and are now facing charges? Our attorneys at The Umansky Law Firm have dealt with many concealed weapons charges, ranging from individuals who didn't have permits in the first place, to individuals who did indeed have a concealed weapons license but brought it to a location where they are not allowed anyway, like an airport.

What Is Carrying A Concealed Weapon in Florida?

  • To carry a concealed weapon in Florida means to carry a handgun or other weapon on you or in close proximity to you, in public, that is not observable to others. The "other weapon" includes, metallic knuckles, billy (clubs), chemical spray or self-defense spray in quantities over two ounces as well as other items that are reasonably considered weapons.
  • There are statutory exceptions, most often they apply to law enforcement or security but civilians can carry certain concealed weapons including firearms when traveling to and from fishing, camping and hunting trips as well as gun shows and gun clubs, assuming all other necessary licenses are in order.
  • Also, to have a firearm concealed while on your own property, home or business is acceptable and in a vehicle so long as it is encased and not readily accessible. To keep a weapon hidden outside of these allowances, without a permit, can result in serious consequences.

Penalties For Carrying A Concealed Weapon

  • If you are caught with an unlawful concealed weapon (not a firearm), you could be charged with a first-degree misdemeanor and receive up to a year in jail and/or probation and $1,000 in fines.
  • For a firearm, the charge is a third-degree felony and the penalty can be five years jail time/probation and $5,000 in fines. The charges and penalties are far steeper for those who have been charged with previous offenses.

These are very serious consequences. Many prosecutors will negotiate a plea, but jail time and fines are nearly always included, even on first offenses.

Concealed Weapons Charge Defense

The process only starts with the charge(s); it certainly does not end there. The right lawyer knows and can effectively argue if the weapon is in fact a lawful one, if it was in a lawful place or if an exception defense (circumstances offered above) applies. Our knowledgeable and experienced attorneys understand these regulations and defenses inside and out, and can be the difference in whether or not the charge(s) holds, the degree to which it holds and the price that you or a loved one might pay.

Contact Us Day Or Night For Aggressive Representation

Do not take chances if you have been charged with carrying a concealed firearm or other weapon. The penalties are extremely serious and can follow you for the rest of your life. Our criminal defense lawyers have more than 60 years of combined experience fighting charges like these on behalf of clients like you.

If you have any questions regarding the legality of bringing a concealed weapon to a public place, contact The Umansky Law Firm today by calling 407-228-3838.

Recent Criminal
Case Results

Grand Theft ($300-$5000)

Nolle Prosequi-Case Dropped

CT-Driving Under the Influence Car (M1)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

CT- Driving under the influence car

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

Grand Theft Third Degree

Adjudicated Guilty; One day jail/one day time serve; Restitution fees; Court Cost

Petit Theft < 300

We negotiated an agreement that entailed the State dropping the charge after our client completed a Pre-Trial Diversion Program. The Charge was dropped via a Nolle Prosequi.

Unlawful Speeding

Withhold of Adjudication; No points on license; Paid fine and clerk cost; 8 hour aggressive driver class; 90 days to satisfy fine and class

Shoot/Throw Missile Into Dwell/Struct/Veh; Child Abuse; Criminal Mischief; Battery (Domestic Violence)

No Information Notice - Charges Dropped

Attach Tag/Lic Plate To Unassigned Vehicle (M2)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

DUI with Minor In Car or BAL of .20 or Higher

Pled No Contest, 1 Year Probation, 10 day Car Impound, Community Service

Motion to Modify Probation

Motion Granted in 48 hours

Petit Theft

Adjudication Withheld, 4 Months probation, Costs/Fines, Impulse Control Class

Petit Theft of $100 or MORE (M1)

Nolle Prosequi

Refuse To Submit To DUI Test (M1)

Case Dropped

Battery on Law Enforcement Officer (F3); Disorderly Conduct (M2)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

Battery

Charges Dropped

Scheme to Defraud(F3); Grand Theft(F3)

Motion to Terminate Probation Granted

Unlawful Speed

Dismissed

Failed to Yield at Intersection

Not Guilty

Leave Scene Of A Crash W/Property Damage (M2)

Case Dropped

Motion to Modify and Impose a Withhold of Adjudication

Granted

Attempted Burglary of a Conveyance

Charges dropped

Possession of Cannabis (less than 20 grams)

Charges dropped

VOP for DUI

Reduced to reckless driving

Possession of Alcohol Under the Age of 21

Charges dropped

Driving Under the Influence

Reduced to Reckless Driving

Violation of Probation

Case Dismissed

More Cases

Recent Personal
Injury Settlements

$125,000

Scooter Accident

$275,000

Car Accident

$100,000

Car Accident

$300,000

Government Liability Case

$100,000

Back Injury

More Settlements