One of the most common traffic violations in the state of Florida is people driving while their license has been suspended or revoked. The best thing you can do for yourself is to hire an aggressive Florida lawyer who will fight for your rights. The prosecutor has to prove that you drove the car knowing that your license was suspended. Your lawyer will be able to talk to the prosecutor and find out all the charges and argue your case with him. He will make sure you were read your rights and understood them before talking about your case to anyone but a lawyer.

Driving without a license, a revoked license or suspended license could bring civil charges or criminal charges against you. If you did not know your license was suspended and this is your first time, you could get off with just paying a fine. If you knowingly drove without a license the punishment for a criminal misdemeanor could get you jail time of 60 days and a fine of $500 in the state of Florida. A lawyer will act for you on your defense against all charges.

If you are pulled over a second time within five years with a suspended license in Florida, you will be facing up to a $1000 fine and as much as one year in jail. The Florida Contraband Forfeiture Act allows the police to seize your vehicle if you are stopped a second time. Habitual offenders who drive while their license is suspended are those who get caught three or more times in a five year period. Habitual offenders will have their driver's license suspended for five years and could be charged with a felony. Felons could receive up to five years in jail and a $5,000 fine. It is imperative that you seek professional legal advice so you rights are protected.

One defense for driving while your license is suspended is if you never received your notification that your license was suspended. A lawyer will be able to see all the records on where your suspended letter went to and why you didn't receive it. He will then consult with you on how you want to proceed with the case as well as talking to the prosecutor on your behalf.

Your suspended license attorney can arrange so that you do not have to be at your arraignment hearing for your traffic violation. He will file pleadings on your behalf so you can continue on with your daily job and he will go to court and present your case. He will plead you not guilty to the judge and request a trial by jury. Your attorney will then find out what right the officer had for pulling you over and argue your case by attacking any reasons why the officer pulled you over. If at all possible, your lawyer and the prosecutor will come to an agreement on reduced charges if any, and fines that you might have to pay. The job of your suspended license lawyer is to get you the best possible deal he can so you do not do any jail time nor have points put on your license.

If you do end up going to trial, your lawyer will prepare you for all the questions that he will be asking you. The two of you will go over why you didn't know about your suspended license and the circumstances around your arrest. He will make sure you know and understand your rights and feel comfortable with all the questions. Your lawyer will also educate you on what the prosecutor might ask and how to answer the questions truthfully without saying to much. A mock trial room would be set up so you get comfortable in the courtroom setting. By the time your trial comes around you will be able to take the stand and give the proper answers without any nervousness.

In the courtroom your lawyer will know exactly how to cross examine the police officer, and how to present the closing arguments so the jury understands and respects your side of the story. Trying to represent yourself without the help of a professional lawyer could prove to be extremely challenging and you could end up with a poor outcome. Do not ignore the problem of having a suspended license in Florida, if you do and you get stopped again, your problems will only be larger.

Our Florida suspended license attorneys will handle your case and give you legal representation for your traffic violations. Contact us today at (407)228-3838.

Recent Criminal
Case Results

Grand Theft ($300-$5000)

Nolle Prosequi-Case Dropped

CT-Driving Under the Influence Car (M1)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

CT- Driving under the influence car

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

Grand Theft Third Degree

Adjudicated Guilty; One day jail/one day time serve; Restitution fees; Court Cost

Petit Theft < 300

We negotiated an agreement that entailed the State dropping the charge after our client completed a Pre-Trial Diversion Program. The Charge was dropped via a Nolle Prosequi.

Unlawful Speeding

Withhold of Adjudication; No points on license; Paid fine and clerk cost; 8 hour aggressive driver class; 90 days to satisfy fine and class

Shoot/Throw Missile Into Dwell/Struct/Veh; Child Abuse; Criminal Mischief; Battery (Domestic Violence)

No Information Notice - Charges Dropped

Attach Tag/Lic Plate To Unassigned Vehicle (M2)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

DUI with Minor In Car or BAL of .20 or Higher

Pled No Contest, 1 Year Probation, 10 day Car Impound, Community Service

Motion to Modify Probation

Motion Granted in 48 hours

Petit Theft

Adjudication Withheld, 4 Months probation, Costs/Fines, Impulse Control Class

Petit Theft of $100 or MORE (M1)

Nolle Prosequi

Refuse To Submit To DUI Test (M1)

Case Dropped

Battery on Law Enforcement Officer (F3); Disorderly Conduct (M2)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

Battery

Charges Dropped

Scheme to Defraud(F3); Grand Theft(F3)

Motion to Terminate Probation Granted

Unlawful Speed

Dismissed

Failed to Yield at Intersection

Not Guilty

Leave Scene Of A Crash W/Property Damage (M2)

Case Dropped

Motion to Modify and Impose a Withhold of Adjudication

Granted

Attempted Burglary of a Conveyance

Charges dropped

Possession of Cannabis (less than 20 grams)

Charges dropped

VOP for DUI

Reduced to reckless driving

Possession of Alcohol Under the Age of 21

Charges dropped

Driving Under the Influence

Reduced to Reckless Driving

Violation of Probation

Case Dismissed

More Cases

Recent Personal
Injury Settlements

$125,000

Scooter Accident

$275,000

Car Accident

$100,000

Car Accident

$300,000

Government Liability Case

$100,000

Back Injury

More Settlements