If you qualify under Florida law as a sexual offender or sexual predator, you are required to register with the state for life. The only way you can abstain from registering as a sexual offender or predator is to have the conviction set aside through a hearing that removes any qualifications as a predator or offender, or receive a full pardon for the conviction.

On July 1, 2007, the Florida registration law was amended to disallow anyone from petitioning the court to have a sexual predator or offender status removed from their record for any other cause than those stated above. This is in accordance with the federal Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act of 2006.

However, in accordance with federal standards, a person required to register with the state as a sexual offender may still request that registration requirements be removed from their record if they meet the following criteria:

  • Offender must have been out of confinement, supervision or sanction (probation) for a minimum of 25 years. This is from the very last date of any type of interaction with the law.
  • Offender may not have been arrested for any type of felony or misdemeanor during that 25 year period. This applies to all types of law, not just sexual offenses.


If these criteria are met, the offender has the right to petition the Circuit Court in their area for a removal of the designation. The State Attorney Office must be notified of the hearing date at least three weeks prior to the event. The court, under the guidelines of the Federal Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act does not have to grant petitioner their request.

If you are required to register in Florida as a sexual predator or offender because of an act committed outside of the state, you are required to remain registered for life or until your designation has been lifted in the other state.

If your designation has been lifted, you must provide proof to the FDLE that you are no longer considered a sexual offender or predator in the state of conviction.  If you have any other questions about such laws pertaining to these circumstances, please call the sex crime attorneys at The Umansky Law Firm today at (407)228-3838.

Recent Criminal
Case Results

Grand Theft ($300-$5000)

Nolle Prosequi-Case Dropped

CT-Driving Under the Influence Car (M1)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

CT- Driving under the influence car

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

Grand Theft Third Degree

Adjudicated Guilty; One day jail/one day time serve; Restitution fees; Court Cost

Petit Theft < 300

We negotiated an agreement that entailed the State dropping the charge after our client completed a Pre-Trial Diversion Program. The Charge was dropped via a Nolle Prosequi.

Unlawful Speeding

Withhold of Adjudication; No points on license; Paid fine and clerk cost; 8 hour aggressive driver class; 90 days to satisfy fine and class

Shoot/Throw Missile Into Dwell/Struct/Veh; Child Abuse; Criminal Mischief; Battery (Domestic Violence)

No Information Notice - Charges Dropped

Attach Tag/Lic Plate To Unassigned Vehicle (M2)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

DUI with Minor In Car or BAL of .20 or Higher

Pled No Contest, 1 Year Probation, 10 day Car Impound, Community Service

Motion to Modify Probation

Motion Granted in 48 hours

Petit Theft

Adjudication Withheld, 4 Months probation, Costs/Fines, Impulse Control Class

Petit Theft of $100 or MORE (M1)

Nolle Prosequi

Refuse To Submit To DUI Test (M1)

Case Dropped

Battery on Law Enforcement Officer (F3); Disorderly Conduct (M2)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

Battery

Charges Dropped

Scheme to Defraud(F3); Grand Theft(F3)

Motion to Terminate Probation Granted

Unlawful Speed

Dismissed

Failed to Yield at Intersection

Not Guilty

Leave Scene Of A Crash W/Property Damage (M2)

Case Dropped

Motion to Modify and Impose a Withhold of Adjudication

Granted

Attempted Burglary of a Conveyance

Charges dropped

Possession of Cannabis (less than 20 grams)

Charges dropped

VOP for DUI

Reduced to reckless driving

Possession of Alcohol Under the Age of 21

Charges dropped

Driving Under the Influence

Reduced to Reckless Driving

Violation of Probation

Case Dismissed

More Cases

Recent Personal
Injury Settlements

$125,000

Scooter Accident

$275,000

Car Accident

$100,000

Car Accident

$300,000

Government Liability Case

$100,000

Back Injury

More Settlements