How can you get a domestic charge, domestic violence battery charge, or assault dropped? People often think that it's possible to get charges mitigated down to such as anger management classes. Sometimes in a domestic violence case, the victim does not want to go forward and prosecute the defendant in the case. That's where we start as criminal defense lawyers: we find out the position of the victim. A lot of State attorney's offices, while they don't have to listen to the victim concerning what the victim wants on the case, will still heed the victim's pleas. It's important for the lawyer to make sure that the victim's voice is heard. Sometimes, victims don't want to speak directly to the prosecutor's office because they fear that they may say the wrong thing and get their loved one prosecuted. Our office is able to prepare an affidavit and declination of prosecution for the victim and then submit the documents to the State attorney's office directly. Lawyers must be careful when talking to the victim so they are not seen as tampering with the witness.

If a lawyer can get the victim to fill out the declination of prosecution, it goes a long way toward getting the case dropped. If that hasn't occurred or the victim doesn't want to go forward in the case, the next thing could be to ask the prosecutor if the client qualifies for a first offender program. Most State attorney's offices in Central Florida have first offender programs for domestic violence battery charges; however, the requirements of these programs are all different. Some ask for what we call BIP, the batter's intervention program, which is a program that is offered in Florida. It's a 26-week counseling program that is not difficult to complete in terms of what you actually have to do, but it is time-intensive. Some State attorney's offices will allow for a 12-week anger management class, which is a much shorter time commitment. And some offices will even allow a first offender program to be completed through an 8-hour anger management class.

Your first offender program depends on what you're offered by the State attorney's office or what your lawyer can negotiate with the State attorney's office. Now, if for whatever reason you don't qualify for a first offender program, or the victim in the State attorney's office won't agree to put you on the first offender program, you may have the option to be put on probation, although you may still have to complete some of these same classes. The good thing about the first offender program vs. being put on probation is that the first offender programs will get the cases against you dropped. Then you can move on and hopefully expunge your record. With both probation and these conditions being a condition of your probation, it won't go into your record.

Recent Criminal
Case Results

Grand Theft ($300-$5000)

Nolle Prosequi-Case Dropped

CT-Driving Under the Influence Car (M1)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

CT- Driving under the influence car

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

Grand Theft Third Degree

Adjudicated Guilty; One day jail/one day time serve; Restitution fees; Court Cost

Petit Theft < 300

We negotiated an agreement that entailed the State dropping the charge after our client completed a Pre-Trial Diversion Program. The Charge was dropped via a Nolle Prosequi.

Unlawful Speeding

Withhold of Adjudication; No points on license; Paid fine and clerk cost; 8 hour aggressive driver class; 90 days to satisfy fine and class

Shoot/Throw Missile Into Dwell/Struct/Veh; Child Abuse; Criminal Mischief; Battery (Domestic Violence)

No Information Notice - Charges Dropped

Attach Tag/Lic Plate To Unassigned Vehicle (M2)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

DUI with Minor In Car or BAL of .20 or Higher

Pled No Contest, 1 Year Probation, 10 day Car Impound, Community Service

Motion to Modify Probation

Motion Granted in 48 hours

Petit Theft

Adjudication Withheld, 4 Months probation, Costs/Fines, Impulse Control Class

Petit Theft of $100 or MORE (M1)

Nolle Prosequi

Refuse To Submit To DUI Test (M1)

Case Dropped

Battery on Law Enforcement Officer (F3); Disorderly Conduct (M2)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

Battery

Charges Dropped

Scheme to Defraud(F3); Grand Theft(F3)

Motion to Terminate Probation Granted

Unlawful Speed

Dismissed

Failed to Yield at Intersection

Not Guilty

Leave Scene Of A Crash W/Property Damage (M2)

Case Dropped

Motion to Modify and Impose a Withhold of Adjudication

Granted

Attempted Burglary of a Conveyance

Charges dropped

Possession of Cannabis (less than 20 grams)

Charges dropped

VOP for DUI

Reduced to reckless driving

Possession of Alcohol Under the Age of 21

Charges dropped

Driving Under the Influence

Reduced to Reckless Driving

Violation of Probation

Case Dismissed

More Cases

Recent Personal
Injury Settlements

$125,000

Scooter Accident

$275,000

Car Accident

$100,000

Car Accident

$300,000

Government Liability Case

$100,000

Back Injury

More Settlements