Does a lawyer need a certification in order to handle a driving under the influence charge? The answer to that question is no. In fact, the only type of law that requires a certification is in a capital case, where a person is facing the death penalty. That's the only area of law that actually requires a lawyer to have a certain amount of years to be experienced, and to actually be certified by the state of Florida and a Florida BAR that they can handle that type of case. The only thing that's required for a lawyer to handle a DUI case in the state of Florida is to be a member of the BAR, and actually be a lawyer. Other than that, there are no other certifications required. However, it's a good idea to always make sure that any lawyer that you hire is very experienced. Some questions that you're going to want to ask that lawyer is:

  • How many DUI cases have you handled?
  • How long have you been practicing?
  • What were the case results and when was your last DUI charge that you took care of?

You don't need a certification to know when a lawyer is going to be the right DUI lawyer for your case. See if they have past results on their websites with a number of DUI results. Check some online directories like Avvo to know what kind of credentials they have based on their former clients and other attorneys they work with. Meet with them for a free consultation and get a feel for their work ethic and staff. Having a good connection with the lawyer that will be defending you will typically make you feel better about going through the whole process. You want the lawyer to be genuinely interested in getting a good result for your DUI case.

These are the questions that a lawyer who has any experience would be able to answer for you.  So keep in mind, though there isn't a certain certification necessary, its good to know if they're committed to any organizations specifically for DUI, and any awards of accolades associated with their vigilance in defending these cases.

Recent Criminal
Case Results

Grand Theft ($300-$5000)

Nolle Prosequi-Case Dropped

CT-Driving Under the Influence Car (M1)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

CT- Driving under the influence car

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

Grand Theft Third Degree

Adjudicated Guilty; One day jail/one day time serve; Restitution fees; Court Cost

Petit Theft < 300

We negotiated an agreement that entailed the State dropping the charge after our client completed a Pre-Trial Diversion Program. The Charge was dropped via a Nolle Prosequi.

Unlawful Speeding

Withhold of Adjudication; No points on license; Paid fine and clerk cost; 8 hour aggressive driver class; 90 days to satisfy fine and class

Shoot/Throw Missile Into Dwell/Struct/Veh; Child Abuse; Criminal Mischief; Battery (Domestic Violence)

No Information Notice - Charges Dropped

Attach Tag/Lic Plate To Unassigned Vehicle (M2)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

DUI with Minor In Car or BAL of .20 or Higher

Pled No Contest, 1 Year Probation, 10 day Car Impound, Community Service

Motion to Modify Probation

Motion Granted in 48 hours

Petit Theft

Adjudication Withheld, 4 Months probation, Costs/Fines, Impulse Control Class

Petit Theft of $100 or MORE (M1)

Nolle Prosequi

Refuse To Submit To DUI Test (M1)

Case Dropped

Battery on Law Enforcement Officer (F3); Disorderly Conduct (M2)

Nolle Prosequi - Case Dropped

Battery

Charges Dropped

Scheme to Defraud(F3); Grand Theft(F3)

Motion to Terminate Probation Granted

Unlawful Speed

Dismissed

Failed to Yield at Intersection

Not Guilty

Leave Scene Of A Crash W/Property Damage (M2)

Case Dropped

Motion to Modify and Impose a Withhold of Adjudication

Granted

Attempted Burglary of a Conveyance

Charges dropped

Possession of Cannabis (less than 20 grams)

Charges dropped

VOP for DUI

Reduced to reckless driving

Possession of Alcohol Under the Age of 21

Charges dropped

Driving Under the Influence

Reduced to Reckless Driving

Violation of Probation

Case Dismissed

More Cases

Recent Personal
Injury Settlements

$125,000

Scooter Accident

$275,000

Car Accident

$100,000

Car Accident

$300,000

Government Liability Case

$100,000

Back Injury

More Settlements